Skip to Main Content

ACRL, IPEDS, and National Surveys

Support, guides and tutorials for PALNI libraries completing the ACRL, IPEDS, and other national surveys.

WMS Reports for Collection Quantities

Enhanced Templates (designed 2023):
•    PALNI Electronic Title Quantities TEMPLATE for ACRL/IPEDS
•    PALNI Physical Title Quantities TEMPLATE for ACRL/IPEDS
•    PALNI Physical Book Volume Quantities TEMPLATE for ACRL/IPEDS
 

The new templates are designed to filter out formats that are excluded from the survey instructions, and to group included formats by reporting category. Please see notes on the reports, once generated, for guidance about some slight manual modifications.


Previous Templates. See "Archived Templates" section for more detail:
•    PALNI Title Quantity Material Format and Subformat
•    PALNI Item Quantity Material Format and Subformat
 

If using the previous templates, use Pivot Tables (Material Formats and Using Pivot Tables tab) with template report exports to obtain calculations.
 

Important notes about collection counts:

  • Item Holdings data is at the item level as determined by your LHRs. 
  • See the Material Formats and Using Pivot Tables tab for guidance on material formats to include/exclude in report counts.
  • [Report Designer] When creating reports, do NOT use objects from more than one of the following folders in a single report: Item Holding Information, Title Holding Information, Volatility Information. Custom reports for title holdings and item holdings must be created and run separately.
  • Electronic materials activated in Collection Manager will only be included in report title counts if you have “Maintain Knowledge Base Holdings in WorldCat” set to YES. If you wish to include counts for collections that are set to NO, you may need to gather title counts from the collection vendor or from Collection Manager individually by collection.
  • A collated KBART file for your institution’s selected collections will NOT be de-duplicated. Use caution relying on counts from your KBART file, and note that some extremely large collections, like Internet Archive and HathiTrust, may render your file too large to work with. (These collections must not be included in the reported counts, should you have them activated.) In addition, KBART counts are real-time counts and may not reflect the title counts as of your end of fiscal year. If you choose to use your KBART file for annual reporting, download on or close to the last day of your fiscal year.
  • Regarding PDA/DDA Titles: If you have PDA/DDA titles, you will need to estimate how many of these titles were activated but not purchased as of the end of the fiscal year. You may be able to do that via the history tab in the Collection Manager (Knowledge Base) for the collection that includes PDA titles. Subtract the number of PDA titles at year end from your total eBook numbers.

Electronic Titles (Toolkit)

*New PALNI Electronic Title Quantities TEMPLATE for ACRL/IPEDS: Provides institutional title quantity counts for electronic formats. Individual tabs for books, media, and serials. 

  • Tabs:
    • All Electronic Titles
    • Electronic Books
    • Electronic Media
    • Electronic Serials: The accuracy of the Electronic Serials quantities depends upon local practices, primarily whether collections in Collection Manager are set to maintain holdings in WorldCat or not. ACRL recommends that libraries use their A-Z list quantities to report electronic serials; this tab is provided for reference and other local use.

Physical Titles (Toolkit)

*New PALNI Physical Title Quantities TEMPLATE for ACRL/IPEDS: This report provides institutional title quantity counts for physical formats. Individual tabs for Books, Media, and Serials. Please see notes for needed manual modifications. 

  • Tabs:
    • All Physical Titles
    • Physical Books: For survey purposes,BOOKS:MICROFORM should be subtracted here and added to "Physical Media" ; For survey purposes,BOOKS:CONTINUALLYUPDATEDRESOURCES should be subtracted here and added to "Physical Serials"
    • Physical Media: For survey purposes, add BOOKS:MICROFORM from "Physical Books" to the quantity for "Physical Media"
    • Physical Serials: For survey purposes, add BOOKS:CONTINUALLYUPDATEDRESOURCES from "Physical Books" to the quantity for "Physical Serials"

Physical Volumes (Toolkit)

*New PALNI Physical Book Volume Quantities TEMPLATE for ACRL/IPEDS: Provides institutional item holding quantities for physical book/bound journal formats. Designed for the ACRL survey, line 40a.

  • ACRL instructions request bound journal volumes for the survey; this report cannot differentiate between bound and unbound serial formats.
  • Tabs:
    • By Format
    • By Location