Skip to Main Content

ACRL, IPEDS, and National Surveys

Support, guides and tutorials for PALNI libraries completing the ACRL, IPEDS, and other national surveys.

About the Toolkit

TOOLKIT TEMPLATES

Copies of all WMS reports used for surveys, including modified WMS Standard templates and Custom report templates built for PALNI, are located in WMS Report Designer, folder 2.1 PAL2, Annual Survey Toolkit.

We recommend that you save copies of the templates to your local instance (folder 2.0) to customize filters and save output.

Toolkit Reports and Descriptions

Template/Report Descriptions and Explanatory Notes

*Collection quantity templates are available for non-PALNI Report Designer users in the 3.1 Global Templates > Cataloging/Collection > ACRL/IPEDS Collection Quantities folder

New Consolidated COUNTER 5 Metrics for ACRL Survey Template (2023): Combined COUNTER 5 TR and IR usage summary report. Generates totals for ACRL and IPEDS digital/electronic circulation fields. Includes TR_J3, which counts OA usage. 

*New PALNI Electronic Title Quantities TEMPLATE for ACRL/IPEDS: Provides institutional title quantity counts for electronic formats. Individual tabs for books, media, and serials. 

  • Tabs:
    • All Electronic Titles
    • Electronic Books
    • Electronic Media
    • Electronic Serials: The accuracy of the Electronic Serials quantities depends upon local practices, primarily whether collections in Collection Manager are set to maintain holdings in WorldCat or not. ACRL recommends that libraries use their A-Z list quantities to report electronic serials; this tab is provided for reference and other local use.

 

*New PALNI Physical Title Quantities TEMPLATE for ACRL/IPEDS: This report provides institutional title quantity counts for physical formats. Individual tabs for Books, Media, and Serials. Please see notes for needed manual modifications. 

  • Tabs:
    • All Physical Titles
    • Physical Books: For survey purposes,BOOKS:MICROFORM should be subtracted here and added to "Physical Media" ; For survey purposes,BOOKS:CONTINUALLYUPDATEDRESOURCES should be subtracted here and added to "Physical Serials"
    • Physical Media: For survey purposes, add BOOKS:MICROFORM from "Physical Books" to the quantity for "Physical Media"
    • Physical Serials: For survey purposes, add BOOKS:CONTINUALLYUPDATEDRESOURCES from "Physical Books" to the quantity for "Physical Serials"

 

*New PALNI Physical Book Volume Quantities TEMPLATE for ACRL/IPEDS: Provides institutional item holding quantities for physical book/bound journal formats. Designed for the ACRL survey, line 40a.

  • ACRL instructions request bound journal volumes for the survey; this report cannot differentiate between bound and unbound serial formats.
  • Tabs:
    • By Format
    • By Location


OCLC Monthly Circulation Statistics Report: Circulation statistics by branch and month within a specified date range. Template for PALNI is modified from the original OCLC standard report to better align with settings for ACRL/IPEDS instructions. 
 

PALNI Acquistions Expenditures Template for ACRL/IPEDS: Provides detailed list of items ordered during single budget period. Includes fund codes. Use prompt to select desired budget period. Input controls allow filtering of results by acquisitions type, order type, formats, and locations. Used to obtain sums of expenditures and item counts acquired for annual surveys. 


PALNI Circulation Events Measures for PALShare Lending: Use to gather measures for PALShare Lending. Prompts for date period. Prompt for Loan Policy - use the loan policies you use for PALShare, usually PALNI Books and PALNI Media. 


ATS Withdrawn Items List for ATS: List of withdrawn items during prompted date range. Data from Circulation Item Status. Important: Counts/lists are dependent on each institutions local deletion period as defined in Service Configuration.

  • Tabs
    • Withdrawn Items List
    • Withdrawn Count
       

Superceded Templates

*PALNI Item Quantity Material Format and Subformat TEMPLATE for ACRL/IPEDS: This report provides institutional item holdings quantity counts by material format and subformat. Use pivot tables and material format slicers to calculate categorized quantities. 

*PALNI Title Quantity Material Format and Subformat TEMPLATE for ACRL/IPEDS: This report provides institutional title quantity counts by material format and subformat.  Use pivot tables and material format slicers to calculate categorized quantities. 

OCLC Counter 5 Merged E-Journal/E-Book Usage Summary: COUNTER 5 usage counts of licensed electronic titles by month for all vendors.