Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources for Reports
See the WMS Reports for Annual Surveys tab for reports in acquisitions, circulation, and cataloging related to IPEDS, ACRL, and ATLA.
Work With Reports (OCLC Help)
Discover procedures for tasks that you may perform (e.g., create, export, schedule, etc.) as you work with standard and custom reports.
Custom Reports (Report Designer)
Below are report creation guides that we have created for PALNI member libraries. Now that shared templates functionality is available, these reports are being improved and saved as templates. Templates that are now available for sharing are marked as PALNI Template (PAL2 2.1 folder) or OCLC Template (3.0 folder).
Loan Totals by LC Subject Conspectus
Analyze use across subject areas in your collections.
Items Checked Out with Publication Detail
How to modify the All Checked Out Items report to add total loans, author, publisher, and publication date. Created for a library to assist with item replacement decisions
Circulation Events by Format, Policy, or Location
How to obtain a list of circulation events for a specific format, loan policy, shelving location, or combination of the above. [PALNI Template, OCLC Template]
Circulation of Purchased Items
How to create a multi-universe report showing number of check-outs of purchased items. Can be used for cost-per-use analysis of collection. [OCLC Template]
New Items (LHRs) - by Fiscal Year
How to obtain a list of new items (LHRs) during a given fiscal year or other date period. Includes item details; may be used to obtain counts.
New Items (LHRs) - Monthly
How to develop a monthly list of newly acquired items (new LHR records). Includes instructions for automatically running an updated list.
Circulation of New LHRs
How to obtain circulation of new items added within a specified time period (whether or not processed through acquisitions).
Orders, Expenditures, and Encumbrances by Budget Year
List of orders per budget year, which can be filtered by budget status and fund code.
Database Payment History
Use the Acquisitions universe to generate a spreadsheet of databases, vendors, subscription periods, and payments. [PALNI Template; OCLC Template]
Percentage of Collection and Loans by Call Number Classification
Examine collection balance by calculating percentage of holdings and circulation of items per call number classification. [PALNI Template]
New WMS FTP Item Inventory Headings April 2018
The new item inventory report will continue to be a pipe delimited .txt file and will continue to display only items with barcodes in WorldShare Circulation.
To allow for migration to the updated report, the new Item Inventory report uses a new naming convention:
- Item_Due_Date Item_Issued_Count
Other Team Developed Help Guides
Resources for designing reports (forthcoming):
- Report Building Reference Guide (Advanced)
Modifying a Standard Report
How to use Report Designer to add and remove fields from an existing Standard Report. (In the example shown in this guide, we want to add KB Collection Provider Name to the Top 100 Title Usage report from E-Resources.)
Report Building Reference Guide (Basic)
How to create a new custom report, save, export, and schedule.
The Reporting and SAP Business Objects Web Intelligence 4.2 (SP6) is the current installed version of the reporting platform. This is the version to look for when accessing documentation and support resources directly from SAP or from other training providers.
Documents for Team Use
Help Guide Template
This document provides a template that can be used to create new help sheets. Includes creating a new document, report build template, exporting, saving, and scheduling reports.