Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SUSHI Configuration and COUNTER Harvesting in WMS License Manager: License Manager and Usage Statistics

OCLC Documentation

  • Configure Vendors for Reporting - this documentation includes which COUNTER 4 and 5 reports can be harvested via SUSHI by License Manager, a list of SUSHI compliant vendors available for configuration, and the minimum required credentials to enter in when configuring vendors.
  • Setup One-Time and Recurring Harvests - includes instructions for activating automatic monthly SUSHI harvests and for uploading CSV, TSV and XML COUNTER files to License Manager.
  • WorldShare Reports - License Manager Reports - this documentation includes details about standard reports that are available once COUNTER data has been harvested in License Manager.
  • E-Resources COUNTER 5 Universe Objects - a list of available data points from License Manager COUNTER 5 SUSHI harvests. There is a separate data universe for COUNTER 4. Data refresh for E-Resources Universes is on the first of the month, as well as on a daily basis for some data objects.
  • Overlap Universe Objects - a list of available data points from the knowledge base. Data refresh for Overlap Universe is on the first of the month.

ACRL Statistics and COUNTER Reports in License Manager

Using SUSHI Harvesting and Harvest Summaries for ACRL Statistics

License Manager provides functionality for calculating usage totals using COUNTER 5 standard reports. For more detailed instructions on calculating usage using Analytics, see the ACRL, IPEDS, and National Surveys LibGuide.

Line 60, column B, multimedia usage - For multimedia requests, License Manager recently enabled harvesting for the IR_M1 standard report, which is the equivalent of COUNTER 4 MR1 multimedia requests. To make use of your existing harvests, use the Database Total Item Requests from the COUNTER 5 Database Usage Summary Report in Analytics, but only include totals from each COUNTER Database Name where the content only consists of video. Add this total to other DR_D1 reports you have downloaded from COUNTER 5 multimedia vendors not available in WMS.

Alternately, once you have IR_M1 harvesting enabled, go to License Manager >Usage Data >Harvest Summary, select COUNTER 5, IR_M1, enter your desired Report Date Range for your fiscal year, select Total Item Requests.

Your Harvest Summary Report total will generate in a few hours. Add this total to other IR_M1 reports you have downloaded from COUNTER 5 vendors not available in WMS.

Line 60, column B, ebook usage – Go to License Manager >Usage Data >Harvest Summary, then select COUNTER 5, TR_B3, enter your desired Report Date Range for your fiscal year, select Unique Title Requests.

Your Harvest Summary Report total will generate in a few hours. This total is the equivalent of COUNTER 4 BR1 title requests, but it includes open access and free to read content. Add this total to other TR_B3 reports you have downloaded from COUNTER 5 vendors not available in WMS.

Line 60 and 63, column B, ejournal usage – Go to License Manager >Usage Data >Harvest Summary, select COUNTER 5, TR_J1, enter your desired Report Date Range for your fiscal year, select Unique Item Requests.

Your Harvest Summary Report total will generate in a few hours.  Add this total to other TR_J1 reports you have downloaded from COUNTER 5 vendors not available in WMS.

SUSHI Harvesting Vendors and Schedules

Testing SUSHI Credentials

Once you have retrieved your SUSHI credentials from the vendor's admin portal, you can test the credentials before saving them. If the test times out, you can still save the credentials if you are confident they are correct and test them via a one -time harvest. License Manager performs the initial test by retrieving a SUSHI XML report behind the scenes. Since a call to a SUSHI server may need to be repeated via automation several times, the live test may result in a time-out, while setting up a one-time harvest can be successful if you have the correct SUSHI credentials.

Timing For Your SUSHI Harvests

OCLC sends SUSHI requests for one-time harvests by spreading them out at an appropriate time interval, to reduce the chance that the vendor's SUSHI server could be overwhelmed by requests from OCLC and others and fail to return a response. OCLC also schedules recurring monthly requests on a specific day of the month so that they can guarantee that that particular vendor will have their usage statistics available for retrieval. For many vendors, this date is the 15th of the month, but OCLC has moved the date later in the month when needed for specific vendors. So, even though you may be able to retrieve usage statistics for January directly from a vendor's admin portal on February 1, OCLC will schedule the retrieval for your recurring harvest on February 15th, to ensure that all License Manager libraries will get their statistics consistently. When a failure for a particular month occurs, OCLC may notify License Manager users via the Community Center. You can also check your Harvest History or the Harvest Summary for harvests with an error, to see if you need to re-harvest for a failed month.

Reviewing, Sorting and Downloading SUSHI Harvests

Accessing the Merged COUNTER E-Journal/E-Book Usage Report (JR1/BR1)

Accessing the Merged COUNTER Database Usage Summary Report (DB1)

Upload COUNTER XML Files to License Manager