LibGuides: Marketing Outreach Toolkit: Content

Retention & Enrollment

Retention & Enrollment:

Content tied directly and/or indirectly to campus retention and enrollment. Informed by the research on https://libguides.palni.edu/retention.

#BookFace - In-person Event Bookface involves strategically lining up your face or another body part alongside a book cover that features a matching body part so that there appears a melding of life and art.
April - National Poetry Month National Poetry Month reminds the public that poets have an integral role to play in our culture and that poetry matters.
Campus Collaboration - Admissions Department The academic library is the heart of campus. As librarians, we all know this! But how do we get the word out to other campus departments and stakeholders? The answer: Collaboration! Combine forces with the admissions department to offer library-specific tours for prospective and incoming students.
December - Elf on the Bookshelf The popular “Elf on the Shelf” game, but in the Library! Don’t forget to give your elf a name!
December - Student Appreciation Plant Party

February - Black History Month Create a display that recognizes this year’s theme by showcasing books, films and other resources dedicated to Black physical and mental health and wellbeing. Supplement the display with information from your campus’s health, wellness and fitness centers about resources and programming focused on Black Health and Wellness. Accompany your table with free, healthy snacks for students from Black-founded brands that support the Equal Justice Initiative.
Help Yourself Book Display A great way to promote within the library is by creating a book display of books to help achieve those New Year’s resolutions.
IL Modules Handout
January - New Year New Goals Book Display
July - Independence Day Promote Independence Day with this fun social media graphic!
March - Open Education Week An annual celebration, Open Education Week (OE Week) is an opportunity for actively sharing and learning about the latest achievements in Open Education worldwide.
March - Women's History Month and International Women's Day: "Reading Women" Challenge
November - International Games Month International Games Week is an initiative run by volunteers from around the world to reconnect communities through their libraries around the educational, recreational, and social value of all types of games.
October - All Hallows Read - Book Display A spooky sign to use with your All Hallows Read book dsplay
Springtime Student Exhibit
Student Worker Graduation Spotlights Give each graduating student worker a special spotlight with this customizable frame!
Summer Photo Contest Promote reading and engagement over the summer months by promoting a summer photo contest!

Academic / Career Success

Academic/Career Success

Content promoting how the library furthers student academic and career success.

1950 Census Social Media Post After seven decades, the federal government has released records from the 1950 census—creating a bonanza for historians, genealogists and the merely curious. Federal law restricts access to census records for 72 years, so this is the first time they are available for public viewing. Share this information on social media and encourage students/library patrons to conduct their own research at the library.
Academic Success Workshop Series The second half of the semester brings exam stress, spring fever and general academic fatigue. Take a window of time this month to host workshops that will help students finish the academic year strong. Events can be held virtually or in-person.
April - Digital Yearbook
April - Preservation Week Preservation Week inspires action to preserve personal, family, and community collections in addition to library, museum, and archive collections. It also raises awareness of the role libraries and other cultural institutions play in providing ongoing preservation education and information.
Career Center or Psych Department Collaboration The academic library is the heart of campus. As librarians, we all know this! But how do we get the word out to other campus departments and stakeholders? The answer: Collaboration! Combine forces with the Career Center or Psychology department to create resources for mental health, goal setting and career direction.
Catalog Search QR code
Course Reserves Reminder
Curated for You: Department-Specific Flyer Flyer designed with specific departments in mind. Includes new acquisitions, libguide link, scholarly resources, and setting up instruction sessions. Spotlight on the librarian liaison for that department.
December - Relaxation Station
July - Librarian Profiles
June - Pride Month LGBTQ+ Stories and Resources
Juneteenth Commemoration
May - Commencement Highlights / Congratulations GIF Post a few photos of graduation (or use this fun gif) to highlight student success!
November - National Novel Writing Month Join a vast community of writers and take part in events designed to help you start, track and finish your novel. The NaNoWriMo community is a great place to create community and encourage students and educators to set and accomplish goals throughout the entire year.
Scheduling One-shot Sessions - Email Examples Stock email text librarians can customize to fit their audience and needs.
September - FYE Toolkit
Study Playlists Generate some inspiration and engagement by sharing some helpful study playlists!
Summer Reading Tips Share some summer reading tips either for in-between sessions or while on vacation! This is also a great way to promote any apps your library has available for download. (remember to provide a link if so!)
Vision Board Workshop With the start of a new year comes overwhelm with goals, schedules and the start of a new chapter. Take a window of time this month to host a vision board workshop either in-person or Facebook Live!
Writing Center Collaboration Spotlight Your campus writing center is a great resource for students and is a valuable extension of the Library. Use this email template to kickstart a collaboration!

Access & Affordability

Content showcasing how the library is tackling literal, technological access as well as equitable access to library resources. Additionally, illustrating how the libraries are good financial stewards.

April - Virtual Easter Egg Hunt Get more eyes on your website by creating a virtual golden egg hunt leading up to Easter!
Beach Reads Book Display and Social Media Graphic A great way to promote summer reading within the library is by creating a book display of beach or vacation-themed books!
Book Sale Poster At the close of an academic year, many libraries will be shifting their focus on organizing collections and preparing for the upcoming year. Use these templates to promote a book sale and drive more traffic through the door!
February - National Library Lovers Month Share a graphic and ask audience members to respond by sharing what they love about their libraries.
Finals Week - Extended Hours Announce extended hours for finals week with this customizable graphic.
New Here, Start Here QR Code Flyer Flyer to print for the reference/circ desk and/or library doors. The flyer can also be emailed and posted digitally. The flyer includes space for a QR code that links to your website or LibGuide.
November - Holiday Hours - Announcement November marks the beginning of a busy holiday and finals season. Your users will begin marking their calendars and organizing their schedules at this time. Set them up for success to navigate the busy season with intention by announcing any changes in your hours ahead of time.
November - World Digital Preservation Day
October - American Archives Month American Archives Month (October) is a great opportunity to demonstrate how your library makes history accessible. Feature your archives using this social media post template and the hashtag #ArchivesMonth.
October - Open Access Week A guide to access, support and resources you need to connect with the worldwide OA Week community.
PALSave Course Redesign Grants
Read and Publish Agreement Promo Materials
Remote Access How-To With holidays approaching and students heading off campus, now is a good time to highlight any services that are available remotely (which is probably a lot of them!).
September - Bibliodiversity Day Flyer to print/email and social media post to showcase DEI collections and/or libguides that are dedicated to culturally diversity.
September - Peer Review Week
September/October - Banned Books Week Social Media Posts Social media posts for Banned Books Week - September 26-October 2, 2021
Study Spaces Feature Guide students to your study spaces by showcasing imagery and an easy, step-by-step guide to booking them ahead of time (if applicable).
Summer Hours with Optional Snack Station - Graphic May marks the beginning of holiday breaks, summer learning terms and updated hours of service. Let your users know that the library is still available to them all summer long! Set them up for success to navigate intensive learning terms with intention by announcing any changes in your hours ahead of time.

Marketing Outreach Toolkit: Content

Ongoing Plan

Retention & Enrollment

Retention & Enrollment:

Academic / Career Success

Academic/Career Success

Access & Affordability

Access & Affordability