Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PALNI Information Literacy Modules

About the PALNI IL Modules

The PALNI IL modules are a set of modules on the following topics available for use as LMS or LibGuide versions. Each module contains learning outcomes, course content, an activity, and a quiz. Modules can stand alone or be used in any combination.

Module 1: Forming Your Research Question

Learning Outcomes:

  • Select an effective research topic,
  • Generate questions related to a research topic,
  • Apply simple techniques to broaden or narrow a research topic, and
  • Identify key concepts and terms that apply to a given topic area.

Module 2: Searching for Information Online

Learning Outcomes:

  • Describe what search engines are, the types of information you can access by using them, and how to access them.
  • Describe what library databases are, the types of information they contain, and how to access them.
  • Describe an appropriate use for Wikipedia in a research project.
  • Describe how you use keywords to search a library database.
  • Search the database Academic Search Complete for a scholarly article.

Module 3: Advanced Searching

Learning Outcomes:

  • Identify and consider contents of databases to choose the database most appropriate for your needs.
  • Identify and consider elements of database records to maximize search strategy.
  • Use multiple search boxes and field options in search strategy.
  • Use database Limiting and Narrowing tools to focus Results Lists.

Module 4: Evaluating Sources

Learning Outcome:

  • Evaluate resources to determine if they should be used for your assignment based on standard evaluation criteria

Module 5: Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources

Learning Outcomes:

  • Distinguish between primary, secondary, and tertiary sources.
  • Determine when it is appropriate to use each type of source during a research project.

Module 6: Scholarly Articles

Learning Outcomes:

  • List the standard format of empirical scholarly articles. 
  • Effectively and efficiently read scholarly articles for maximum comprehension.

Module 7: Information Cycles and Communication Sources

Learning Outcomes:

  • Understand the cycle of information.
  • Recognize patterns in Information Cycles.
  • Differentiate between scholarly, trade, and popular communication.
  • Identify which resources are best for research, and
  • Use techniques for finding peer-reviewed articles.

Module 8: Misinformation and Media Bias

Learning Outcomes:

  • Critically evaluate news sources.
  • Identify 7 types of misinformation.
  • Recognize 7 forms of media bias.

Module 9: Organizing Sources

Learning Outcomes:

  • Construct an organization system for compiled research sources using note cards or online organization / citation management tools.
  • Employ ethical practices of incorporating sources into one’s own work through quotations, paraphrases, and summaries.

Module 10: Academic Integrity

Learning Outcomes:

  • Identify the six values of academic integrity. 
  • Analyze strategies for maintaining academic integrity.

Module 11: Understanding Plagiarism & Citing Sources

Learning Outcomes:

  • Distinguish between the ethical use of a source and plagiarism.
  • Identify a citation and its basic elements.
  • Explain the purpose and benefits of citations.
  • Produce a citation from a source following a standard format.

Module 12: Copyright, Fair Use, & Public Domain

Learning Outcome:

  • Understand how copyright and fair use dictate the use of sources.

Module 13: Literature Reviews

Learning Outcomes:

  • List different ways to organize a literature review.
  • Discuss what should be included in each section of a literature review.
  • Successfully write a literature review.

Module 14: Scholarly Conversation

Learning Outcomes:

  • Define scholarly conversation.
  • Identify strategies for researching forward/backward.