Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Grant Seeking: Grants you can apply for

Grants

Last update: Sept. 3, 2019

Agency Grant name Description URL
Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) National Leadership Grants for Libraries Advance, support, and empower America's museums, libraries, and related organizations through grantmaking, research, and policy development. https://www.imls.gov/grants/available/national-leadership-grants-libraries
Allen Whitehill Clowes Charitable Foundation, Inc. Operating/Capital Project Promote or preserve the Arts and Humanities. Priority will be given primarily to those organizations located in Central Indiana. https://www.awclowescf.org/
Ball Brothers Foundation General/Rapid Grants Focusing on East Central IN (others rarely funded too): Arts, Culture & Humanities, Education, Environment, Health, Human Services, Public/Society Benefit https://www.ballfdn.org/grant-info/types-of-grants-available/
Central Indiana Community Foundation General Our investments enable organizations to provide effective programs and respond to the needs of people in the neighborhoods and communities they serve. https://www.cicf.org/not-for-profits/#how-to-apply
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) Preservation Assistance Grants for Smaller Institutions Help small and mid-sized institution ismprove their ability to preserve and care for their significant humanities collections. https://www.neh.gov/grants/preservation/preservation-assistance-grants-smaller-institutions
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) Sustaining Cultural Heritage Collections Supporting sustainable conservation measures that mitigate deterioration, prolong the useful life of collections, and support institutional resilience: the ability to anticipate and respond to disasters resulting from natural or human activity. https://www.neh.gov/grants/preservation/sustaining-cultural-heritage-collections
Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR) Recordings at Risk Support the preservation of rare and unique audio, audiovisual, and other time-based media of high scholarly value through digital reformatting. https://www.clir.org/recordings-at-risk/?_zs=sNUgX&_zl=1fjQ1
Indiana State Library LSTA Technology Grant Assist Indiana libraries with purchasing new and improved technology necessary to meet their users’ ever-changing needs for library services, and to provide access to information https://www.in.gov/library/3732.htm
Indiana State Library LSTA Indiana Memory Digitization Grant Digitizing Indiana’s historical collections. The primary goal is to develop content for Indiana Memory, a digital library for Indiana residents (https://indianamemory.org), and Hoosier State Chronicles, Indiana’s digital newspaper program (https://newspapers.library.in.gov). https://www.in.gov/library/3732.htm
Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR) Digitizing Hidden Special Collections and Archives: Enabling New Scholarship through Increasing Access to Unique Materials For digitizing rare and unique content in collecting institutions. https://www.clir.org/hiddencollections/
Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) Ball Venture Fund Grant Encouraging and supporting creative efforts at Indiana’s independent colleges and universities. https://www.icindiana.org/our-programs/scholarships-grants/ball-venture-fund/
PALNI Library Innovation Grant To optimize library resources and services in ways that significantly expand the ability of supported organizations to support teaching and learning at PALNI institutions. Funded programs, projects, and initiatives must align with PALNI strategic priorities and support PALNI deep collaboration. https://libguides.palni.edu/grants/innovation_grant
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) Humanities Collections and Reference Resources Supports projects that provide an essential underpinning for scholarship, education, and public programming in the humanities. https://www.neh.gov/grants/preservation/humanities-collections-and-reference-resources
Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) Multiple Advance, support, and empower America's museums, libraries, and related organizations through grantmaking, research, and policy development. https://www.imls.gov/grants/grant-programs
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) Multiple Promote the humanities. https://www.neh.gov/grants/listing?f%5B0%5D=individual_or_organization%3AOrganization&f%5B1%5D=opportunity_open_or_closed%3A1
United States Department of Education Multiple Promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access. https://www2.ed.gov/programs/find/title/index.html?src=apply-page
The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation General Program areas: Higher Education and Scholarship in the Humanities, Arts and Cultural Heritage, Scholarly Communications, International Higher Education and Strategic Projects https://mellon.org/grants/
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation General US Program: K-12 Education
, Economic Mobility and Opportunity,
Postsecondary Success, Washington State
https://www.gatesfoundation.org/How-We-Work/General-Information/Grant-Opportunities
Lilly Endowment, Inc. General We consider proposals in three main program areas: community development, education and religion. We also are interested in initiatives that benefit youth and promote the causes of philanthropy and volunteerism. https://lillyendowment.org/for-grantseekers/guidelines/
The James Foundation General Enhance the quality of life in Indiana, and other areas of interest to the Foundation, by focusing on the following special interests: Education, Community, and Faith https://www.thejamesfoundation.org/grant-process-and-application/
The Grantsmanship Center: Community Foundations: IN n/a List of community foundations within Indiana https://www.tgci.com/funding-sources/IN/community
Grants.gov n/a Provides a common website for federal agencies to post discretionary funding opportunities and for grantees to find and apply to them. https://www.grants.gov/web/grants/search-grants.html
PALNI-only resources n/a Another list of grantors available on the PALNI drive https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1W2w_8jvBmjvSs8Y2XzUFoA6HEI1rpnvy