Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OER Metafinder Search Tool
Psychology - OpenStax
Designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders.
Personality Theory: A Multicultural Perspective
Written by Lansing Community College Psychology professor Dr. Mark Kelland, covers general personality theory, with an emphasis on cultural aspects affecting personality development. There is also a section focusing on making positive choices in the development of one's personality from a number of different cultural/philosophical perspectives.
Introduction to Psychology - Lumen Learning
Comprehensive coverage of core concepts grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research, including coverage of the DSM-5 in discussions of psychological disorders. Incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe.
Discover Psychology 2.0: A Brief Introductory Text
Presents core concepts common to introductory courses. The 15 units cover the traditional areas of intro-to-psychology; ranging from biological aspects of psychology to psychological disorders to social psychology.
Introduction to Psychology
Utilizes the dual theme of behavior and empiricism to make psychology relevant to intro students. Charles wrote this book to help students organize their thinking about psychology at a conceptual level.
Introduction to Psychology: The Full Noba Collection
Represents the entire catalog of Noba topics. It contains 90 learning modules covering every area of psychology commonly taught in introductory courses.
Principles of Social Psychology
Provides students with an introduction to the basic concepts and principles of social psychology from an interactionist perspective. The presentation of classic studies and theories are balanced with insights from cutting-edge, contemporary research.
Psychology as a Social Science
Provides standard introduction to psychology course content with a specific emphasis on social aspects of psychology. This includes expanded content related to social cognition, aggression, attraction and similar topics.
Abnormal Psychology: An E-Text
By Dr. Caleb Lack, this wiki is an ongoing collaboration between him and students at the University of Central Oklahoma and Arkansas Tech University. So far, over 300 students have spent eight semesters and thousands of hours in contributing to this wiki
Psychology as a Biological Science
Provides standard introduction to psychology course content with a specific emphasis on biological aspects of psychology. This includes more content related to neuroscience methods, the brain and the nervous system.
Introduction to Logic & Critical Thinking
Written by Lansing Community College Philosophy professor Matthew VanCleave, this is an introductory textbook in logic and critical thinking. The goal of the textbook is to provide the reader with a set of tools and skills that will enable them to identify and evaluate arguments. The book is intended for an introductory course that covers both formal and informal logic. As such, it is not a formal logic textbook, but is closer to what one would find marketed as a “critical thinking textbook.”
Textbooks and a workbook in modern philosophy. It combines readings from primary sources with two pedagogical tools. Paragraphs in italics introduce figures and texts. Numbered study questions (also in italics) ask students to reconstruct an argument or position from the text, or draw connections among the readings. The immediate goal is to encourage students to grapple with the ideas rather than passing their eyes over the texts. This makes for a better classroom experience and permits higher-level discussions. Another goal is to encourage collaboration among instructors, as they revise and post their own versions of the book.
Introduction to Sociology 2nd ed - OpenStax
Aheres to the scope and sequence of a typical, one-semester introductory sociology course. It offers comprehensive coverage of core concepts, foundational scholars, and emerging theories.
Sociology: Understanding and Changing the Social World
Makes sociology relevant for today’s students by balancing traditional coverage with a fresh approach that ironically takes them back to sociology’s American roots in the use of sociological knowledge for social reform.
Social Problems: Continuity and Change
A realistic but motivating look at the many issues that are facing our society today. As this book’s subtitle, Continuity and Change, implies, social problems are persistent, but they have also improved in the past and can be improved in the present and future, provided that our nation has the wisdom and will to address them.
Noba is a free online platform that provides high-quality, flexibly structured textbooks and educational materials.
Social Psychology Wikibook
Collection of articles on the subject of social psychology done in wiki format.
Free Open University course materials and other educational resources, delivered through a multi-award-winning website. Visitors don’t need to register as students.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Contains fact sheets and reports on various mental health issues.
Introduction to Sociology - Wikibooks
Collection of articles on the sociology done in wiki format.
The Sociological Cinema
An online resource to help sociology instructors incorporate videos into their classes. The centerpiece of the site is a searchable database of video clips.