Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OER Metafinder Search Tool
Search many repositories listed on this guide at the same time via the Mason MetaFinder. Can be overwhelming, so use precise search terms and eliminate repositories that contain irrelevant materials from the initial search.
Award-winning first year French curriculum used by learners all over the world. Explores French language and culture by following the lives of real students who have participated in the UT Summer Program in Lyon.
Liberté is a first-year college French textbook with a true communicative approach.
Le Littéraire dans le quotidien
Textbook for a transdisiplinary approach to reading/writing at the first and second year levels of college French.
The integrated music component of Français interactif. Chansons features a French or Francophone song, related to each chapter's cultural or pedagogical focus, presented via audio or video.
Enhancing French Skills
Enhancing French skills is a website for intermediate learners of French. It includes authentic language videos from French websites, as well as interviews of French speakers on cultural topics.
Les Conversations Mises à Jour
Collection of authentic conversations in French that targets mostly intermediate and advanced learners of French.
Tex's French Grammar
An online pedagogical reference grammar of the French language that combines authoritative grammar explanations, self-correcting exercises and online audio with surreal dialogues and cartoon images.
JOSHU, a site for learning the Japanese language
JOSHU (Japanese Online Self-Help Utility) means "assistant", or "tutor" in Japanese, which is what this website attempts to be to anyone interested in learning the Japanese language. JOSHU is supported by the Japanese Language Program, UT-Austin.
Beginning Japanese for Professionals: Book 1
Designed for beginning learners who want to learn basic Japanese for the purpose of living and working in Japan. Unlike textbooks written primarily for students, whose content largely centers on student life, this book focuses more on social and professional life beyond school.
Preadvanced Japanese is designed for students who have intermediate competency in Japanese, roughly at Level 2 on the ILR (The Interagency Language Roundtable) proficiency scale, and are working on reaching Level 3.
Deutsch im Blick
A multimedia 1st-year German language program based on videos of native speakers and the UT Summer Program in Würzburg,. Includes recorded vocabulary, phonetics lessons, and more.
German Frame-semantic Online Lexicon (G-FOL)
A prototype of a new kind of pedagogical dictionary. The goal is to help students learn how words are used in modern-day German and in real life contexts.
An online German grammar reference, featuring zany post-modern Grimm’s fairy tale characters, authoritative grammar explanations, self-correcting exercises, online audio and cartoon images.
Community website where instructors can find and share resources for Heritage Spanish.
Spanish Grammar in Context
A website for learning and practicing real-world Spanish grammar
Actividades de práctica con aprendices del español
An online collection of videos of second language and heritage language learners of Spanish during oral interviews and provides supplemental activities to help viewers investigate learners’ language and proficiency levels.
A repository for open Spanish resources
Spanish Proficiency Exercises
A compilation of brief video clips in which native speakers of Spanish from various locations throughout Latin America and Spain demonstrate various language tasks.
Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning (COERLL)
One of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education. The overall mission of these federally-funded centers is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings.
Learning Resources for 46 Languages -Open Culture
Features resources for learning 46 different languages from various providers including Carnegie Mellon, BBC, and Yale among many others. Featured content includes website-based material, audio recordings, flashcards, and Podcasts for learning Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Thai among 39 others.
Tools that instructor needs to access language learning.
Open Learning Initiative - Carnegie Mellon University
Offers online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach. Includes full courses in some languages.