Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Textbook Collection
Open textbooks are free, online learning materials with Creative Commons licenses. Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each will have a particular focus, and items you can't find in other collections.
Open Textbook Library
Created by the University of Minnesota to support development of high-quality open textbooks in various subjects.
Mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a
cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER).
Initiated by Rice University, their free textbooks are developed and peer-reviewed to ensure they meet the scope and sequence requirements of college courses.
Provides college-level open textbooks from higher education institutions around the world.
Collection of freely available open textbooks for download, online reading, and sharing.
College Open Textbooks
Focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open and peer-reviewed textbooks to more than 2,000 community colleges.
MERLOT Open Textbook
Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) is a curated resource of free and online textbooks for use in teaching and learning.
BC Campus OpenEd
Open textbooks for the 40 highest enrolled first- and second-year subject areas in the British Columbia's public, post-secondary system.
A free collection of mathematics-related open textbooks. Includes supplements and a link to order print copies of the book.
Creator, publisher, distributor, and seller of open textbooks and ancillary materials to college-level students.
State University of New York (SUNY) Open Textbooks
With the initiative of the SUNY Libraries, Open SUNY Textbooks publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed textbooks for use in higher education.
OER repositories contain more than just open textbooks. All content featured within these pages is free but usage rights vary. Materials in these repositories are released under a Creative Commons license while some are in the public domain.
Funded by ISKME, OER Commons is a library of OER materials containing over 50,000 high-quality OER.
Open Course Library
Collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments.
Supports faculty in identifying and selecting high quality OER, aligning these to learning outcomes, and assembling them to create OER-based courses.
Openstax CNX (formerly Connexions)
Contains textbooks, articles, supplements, and other learning resources that can be read online or downloaded for free.
Free, peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials maintained by the California State University System.
Florida's digital repository for instructional resources.
Open Courseware Consortium
Free and open collection of high-quality learning materials presented in the form of courses.
A web-based publication of materials from thousands of MIT courses. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
AMSER (Applied Math and Science Education Repository)
Portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in community and technical Colleges.
This library contains downloadable free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities across the globe.
A hub that helps people find, use, and create openly licensed content and provides a space to share their educational content. through partnerships with community of schools & colleges, campuses, faculty, students and alumni.
Want to Adopt this Guide?
Modified and adapted by the PALNI Affordable Education Initiative Taskforce.