PALNI's First Year Experience ToolkitLibGuide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. PALNI’s logos and branding template are not covered by this license, and all rights to such material are reserved.
Below are some examples of well-designed and creative scavenger hunts, as well as a repository of potential types of questions you may want to use for scavenger hunts.
| Category | Scavenger Hunt |
| Academic Success Center | We share this building with our writing center colleagues. Which floor of the library can you find them on? |
| Articles | Search Discovery for an online full text article that mentions Junot Diaz in some way. Show it to [librarian name] who will initial here. |
| Board Games | We have a fantastic board game collection. Locate a favorite game in our collection and take a selfie! |
| Chat | Use the ask a librarian chat button on the library website to start a new chat session. Tell the librarian that you are doing a scavenger hunt and they will give you a code word. Write that word here: |
| Computers | How many computers total are in our computer lab? |
| Ebooks | Find an ebook about Raymond Carver. Show it to [librarian name] who will initial here. |
| Ebooks | Download the Libby app and join the university account by entering your university username. |
| Elevator | If you are in a wheelchair or have crutches, where can you find our elevator to get upstairs? |
| Events and Workshops | Where on the library website is the calendar of events for upcoming events and workshops? |
| Food and Drink | Name a thing not allowed in the archives. |
| Hours | What are the weekend hours for the library? |
| Hours | What are the hours you need to swipe your student ID to enter the library? |
| LibGuides | We have helpful research guides on our library website. Go to [insert directions] and locate a research guide that could help you in a current class you are taking. |
| Librarians | When you have a research question, where can you find a librarian? |
| Librarians | Which librarian specializes in your discipline? |
| Librarians | Share the name of one librarian from our library. |
| Library of Things | If you need to check out a laptop you must have your University ID card. Remember: you can only check out a laptop for six hours. Write down the name of this location AND take a picture. |
| Makerspace | This is the place to unleash your creativity! There are various machines for students to use such as 3D printers, a t-shirt press, a button maker, and a laser engraver. Write down the name of this location AND take a picture. |
| Other Libraries | You have access to the local public library! What is the address of the _______ Public Library? |
| Photocopiers / Printers | Want to print off a copy of the pages you scanned? There are several printers in the library. It costs eight cents per page for black-and-white, so you’d better check your Skyhawk Silver balance to pay for it. |
| Photocopiers / Printers | Can you print posters in the library? |
| Physical Book | Find a physical book here in the library of short stories. Bring it down to the classroom. (Remember that other teams will be looking for a similar book—you might want to take more than one call number upstairs with you!) |
| Physical Book | There's a "New" section downstairs. Find one book in it and take a selfie with it! |
| Physical Book | Did you know you can check out books yourself? Where is the self checkout machine? |
| Physical Space | Find a piece of art on the third floor. Describe it here: |
| Recreational Reading | Find either a recreational reading book or DVD that you would actually want to check out and read/watch. Bring it down to the classroom. |
| Reserves | Course reserves are located behind the front desk. Go there and ask the front desk worker if they have any reserve materials for your classes. |
| Service Desk(s) | This is where you can get your research questions answered, get help with your citations, and learn how to use our databases. Write down the name of this location. |
| Service Desk(s) | This is where you get your ID, check out books, headphones, and where the Reserve collection and Lost & Found is located. Write down the name of this location. |
| Special Collections / Archives | What are the hours of the special collections / archives? |
| Study Space | Find a unique study space or piece of furniture on the second floor of the library. Describe it in a few words here: |
| Study Space | Take a selfie with at least two members of your group in front of a study room on the second or third floor of the library. Show it to [librarian name] who will initial here. |
| Study Space | This floor of the library is the quiet floor and promotes individual study. It is also where our general book collection is located. Write down the name of this location AND take a picture. |
| Study Space | How do you reserve a room on the second floor of the LINK? |
| Unique Collections | Students can read various Marvel and DC comics in this room. Students can also study with friends in this room. The collection cannot leave the building or be checked out. Write down the name of this location AND take a picture there. |
| Website, Library | Where can you find a link to Overdrive on the library website? |