Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CONTENTdm Documentation: Analytics

Google Analytics and CONTENTdm

ContentDM is configured with Google Analytics to track website traffic. Data points include: page views (total and by collection), sessions, referral URL, geographic location, and a variety of user behaviors. Data can be displayed as text or visually in maps, graphs, or charts. See below for examples of available data from the PALNI Digital Collections.

For viewing access to the PALNI Digital Collections Google Analytics site, please contact the PDAT team at pdat@elist.palni.org.

Pageviews by Institution

This report, updated daily, shows ContentDM pageviews for the last 12 months.

Pageviews by Collection

Total Pageviews by Collection - Last 12 Months

This report, updated daily, shows ContentDM pageviews by collection for the last 12 months.

Referrals to CONTENTdm Collections for Last 12 Months

Using Google Analytics for CONTENTdm

Google Analytics in CONTENTdm

OCLC documentation for using Google Analytics in CONTENTdm


How to track analytics by collection

  • In the navigation bar on the left-hand side of the page, click Behavior.
  • Under Behavior Flow, click Site Content, and then click All Pages.
  • Once at Pages, above the table heading change Primary Dimension to Page Title.
  • Above the table heading to the far right is a search box. Enter the name of one of your collections (i.e. Goshen College Record).
  • Then click the magnifying-glass icon to see the Pageviews for that collection. The total is displayed at the top of the column.

How to setup custom reports by collection

  • In the left-hand navigation, click Customization, and then click Custom Reports. Under the Custom Reports heading, click the + New Custom Report button. The Create Custom Report box opens.
  • In the General Information section, change the Title to Users by filtered Page Title.
  • In the Report Content section, accept the defaults for Name and Type. Under Metric Groups, click + add metric, then click Users, and then click Users again. Do not select "Users (Deprecated)." Under Dimension Drilldowns, click + add dimension, then click Behavior, and then click Page Title.
  • In the Filters section, click + add filter, then click Behavior, and then click Page Title. In the drop-down that appears to the right, choose Regex (short for regular expression), and in the text box to the right of that, enter Collection Name. For example, if you want to see users for the "Account Books, Diaries and Journals" collection, enter "Account Books, Diaries and Journals" (without the quotation marks). Be sure not to enter any extra characters — including spaces — as these will cause the regular expression not to match.
    • To avoid Google's autocomplete feature, type the regular expression you want, and then click outside the text box, without pressing the Enter key.
  • At the bottom of the page click Save. The custom report will display. If you need to edit it, click the Edit button located below the Users by filtered Page Title heading.

Total Pageviews by Location - Last 12 Months

This report, updated daily, shows ContentDM pageviews by metro location for the last 12 months.