LibGuides: Information Literacy Assessment Toolkit: Bibliography

Resources Cited and Recommend for Further Reading

bibliography

IL Assessment Overview

Oakleaf, Megan. (2009). The information literacy instruction assessment cycle: A guide for increasing student learning and improving librarian instruction skills. Journal of Documentation, 65(4), 539.560. https://meganoakleaf.info/iliac.pdf.
Oakleaf, Megan. (2009). Writing information literacy assessment plans: A guide to best practice. Communications in Information Literacy, 3(2).
Zald, Anne E. and Debra Gilchrist. (2008). Instruction and program design through assessment. In Christopher N. Cox & Blakesley Lindsay (Eds.), Information literacy instruction handbook (164-192). Chicago, IL: American Library Association. https://digitalscholarship.unlv.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1145&context=lib_articles

Assessment Best Practices

Astin, A., Banta, T.W., Cross, K.P., El-Khawa, E., Ewell, P.T., Hutchings, P., . . . Wright, B.D. (1992). "Assessing student learning: Nine principles of good practice." https://www2.indstate.edu/assessment/docs/ninePrinciples.pdf.
Eberly Center. (2015). Why should assessments, learning objectives, and instructional strategies be aligned? https://www.cmu.edu/teaching/assessment/basics/alignment.html
McTighe, J. & O'Connor, K. (2005). Seven practices for effective learning. Educational Leadership, 63(3), 10-17. https://www.ascd.org/publications/educational-leadership/nov05/vol63/num03/Seven-Practices-for-Effective-Learning.aspx

Considerations Prior to Assessing: Instructional Design

Archambault, S.G., & Masunaga, J. (2015). Curriculum mapping as a strategic planning tool. Journal of Library Administration, 55(6), 503–519.
Booth, C., Brecher, D., Lowe, M.S., Stone, S., & Tagge, N. (2014). Visual curriculum mapping template. Curriculum Maps, 52. https://scholarship.claremont.edu/52
Buchanan, H., et al. (2015, January - April). Curriculum mapping in academic libraries. New Review of Academic Librarianship, 21(1), 94-111. https://researchguides.wcu.edu/curriculummaps
Good Library. (n.d.). Proposal for library involvement in ICC/LC -- 2017-18. Goshen College. https://docs.google.com/document/d/10r6CvwUnb_UdePjAcf0Q14WHYyPKUY0s4i0GEuEn2DQ/
Oakleaf, M. (2009). Writing information literacy assessment plans: A guide to best practice. Communications in Information Literacy, 3(2), 80-89. https://surface.syr.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1003&context=istpub

Considerations Prior to Assessing: Learning Outcomes

Anderson, L.W., & Krathwohl, D.R. (2001). A taxonomy for learning, teaching, and assessing : A revision of Bloom's taxonomy of educational objectives. New York, NY: Longman.
Nentl, N., & Zietlow, R. (2008). Using Bloom's taxonomy to teach critical thinking skills to business students. College & Undergraduate Libraries, 15(1/2), 159–172.

bibliography

Building an Information Literacy Program

Guidelines for instruction programs in academic libraries. (2006, September 6). https://www.ala.org/acrl/standards/guidelinesinstruction
Noe, N. (2013). Creating and maintaining an information literacy instruction program in the twenty-first century: An ever-changing landscape. https://butler.on.worldcat.org/oclc/864851380
Whitlock, B., & Ebrahimi, N. (2016). Beyond the library: Using multiple, mixed measures simultaneously in a college-wide assessment of information literacy. College & Research Libraries, 77(2), 236-262. https://crl.acrl.org/index.php/crl/article/view/16507/17953

bibliography

Formative & Summative

Black, P., & Wiliam, D. (2010). Inside the black box: Raising standards through classroom assessment. Phi Delta Kappan, 92(1), 81–90. https://doi.org/10.1177/003172171009200119
Dixson, D. D., & Worrell, F. C. (2016). Formative and summative assessment in the classroom. Theory Into Practice, 55(2), 153–159. https://doi.org/10.1080/00405841.2016.1148989
Gardner, J. (2010). Developing teacher assessments: An introduction. In J. Gardner, W. Harlen, L. Hayward, & L. Montgomery (Eds.), Developing Teacher Assessment (pp. 1–11). Maidenhead: Open University Press.

Rubrics

Gariepy, L. W., Stout, J. A., & Hodge, M. L. (2016). Using rubrics to assess learning in course-integrated library instruction. Portal: Libraries and the Academy, 16(3), 491–509.
Lundstrom, K., Diekema, A. R., Leary, H., Haderlie, S., & Holliday, W. (2015). Teaching and learning information synthesis: An intervention and rubric based assessment. Communications in Information Literacy, 9(1), 60–82.
Wiggins, G. (1998). Educative assessment: Designing assessments to inform and improve student performance. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass.

bibliography

Peer Evaluations

Middleton, C. (2002). Evolution of peer evaluation of library instruction at Oregon State University Libraries. Portal: Libraries and the Academy, 2(1), 69–78.
Norbury, L. (2001). Peer observation of teaching: A method for improving teaching quality. New Review of Academic Librarianship, 7(1), 87–99.
Snavely, L., & Dewald, N. (2011). Developing and implementing peer review of academic librarians' teaching: An overview and case report. The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 37(4), 343–351.
Vega García, S. A., Stacy-Bates, K. K., Alger, J., & Marupova, R. (2017). Peer evaluation of teaching in an online information literacy course. Portal: Libraries and the Academy, 17(3), 471-483.
Vidmar, Dale J. (2005). Reflective peer coaching: Crafting collaborative self-assessment in teaching. Research Strategies, 20(3), 135–148.

Self-Reflection

Goodsett, M. (2014). Reflective teaching: Improving library instruction through self-reflection. The Southeastern Librarian
Tompkins, E.K. (2009). A reflective teaching journal: An instructional improvement tool for academic librarians. College & Undergraduate Libraries, 16(4), 221–238.
Vidmar, Dale J. (2005). Reflective peer coaching: Crafting collaborative self-assessment in teaching. Research Strategies, 20(3), 135–148.

bibliography

Classroom Assessment Techniques

Angelo, T. A., & Cross, K. P. (2018). Classroom assessment techniques: a handbook for college teachers (2nd ed.) Jossey-Bass.
Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development d/b/a ASCD. (2020). Total participation techniques. https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?xtid=204224.
Barkley, E. F., & Major, C. H. (2016). Learning assessment techniques: a handbook for college faculty. Jossey-Bass & Pfeiffer Imprints, Wiley.
Bowles-Terry, M., & Kvenild, C. (2015). Classroom assessment techniques for librarians. Association of College and Research Libraries.
Gaeddert, B. K. (2003). Improving graduate theological instruction: using classroom assessment techniques to connect teaching and learning. Teaching Theology and Religion, 6(1), 48–52.
Gariepy, L.W. (2011). Classroom assessment techniques in one-shot instruction sessions: Balancing teaching, learning, and time. In B. Sietz, R. Baier, S. De Vries, S. Fabian, S. Memmot, & R. Stevens (Eds.), LOEX Conference Proceedings. Paper presented at the LOEX 29th Annual Conference, Fort Worth, TX, 3-5 December. http ://commons.emich.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1003&context=loexconf2011
Himmele Pérsida, & Himmele, W. (2017). Total participation techniques : making every student an active learner (2nd ed.). ASCD.
Hostetler, K., Luo, T., & Stefaniak, J. E. (2018). Aligning information literacy assessment with metacognitive strategies. Journal of University Teaching and Learning Practice, 15(5).