Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WorldShare Collection Manager: License Manager

This guide provides documentation for creating and managing electronic resource collections in the knowledge base (KB) in Collection Manager.

License Manager Documentation

OCLC Documentation

  • WorldShare License Manager documentation - this documentation includes information on creating licenses and configuring usage data harvesting. License Manager interacts with data from the WorldCat knowledge base, so the knowledge base is also accessible from the Collection Manager link within the Licenses tab.
  • License Manager alerts - this documentation reviews the alerts available for license entry and renewal and for usage data harvesting.
  • License Manager and ILL deflection setup - configurations for ILL are set at the collection level for KB collections by adding a KB collection to a license and configuring and ILL deflection policy.
  • Automated Request Manager for ILL - incoming ILL requests will use the License Manager licensing information more accurately when libraries have enabled Automated Request Manager (ARM).
  • Share licenses - your library can use licenses configured by PALNI in your local instance either as configured, or use the share license as a template for local modifications you may want to add to the license.

License Terms of Use

General Terms of Use for Licenses

License Manager terms of use are derived from the Digital Library Federation's Electronic Resources Management Initiative. This project is no longer active, so further terms of use may need to be developed from more current resources, such as the LIBLICENSE Model License Agreement or the California Digital Library Licensing Toolkit. Terms of use can be submitted as enhancement requests.

Custom Terms of Use for Licenses

You can create a custom term of use which can then be used for other licenses. A custom term of use requires a description, so be sure to include a generic description that will be useful for future uses of your term of use. Then you can enter a comment with the particulars of the term of use for that particular license.

Terms of Use Displayed as Public Notes

License Manager includes a public notes template that allows the library to display notes regarding terms of use using the collection-level settings in Collection Manager. This feature allows you to configure public notes display in Discovery for all of your collections that are associated with a license, and to choose which terms of use you want to display. If you have existing notes in Collection Manager that you don't want to overwrite, you can leave existing notes that have already been entered in the collection-level settings.

 

 

Managing Renewals in License Manager

License Manager Alerts

You can set your License Manager alerts using the Admin tab in WMS. Alerts will appear on the Alerts dashboard in the upper left of the screen in WMS. The alerts are linked to actions, like renewing a license, or a date, like a renewal date or the expiration date of a license. The renewal deadline allows you to enter the date you expect that you will need to make a decision on the license - for instance, many content providers or subscription agents have a 90 day renewal deadline for cancelling an existing subscription. Once you have entered a renewal deadline, you can set the date when you would like to be reminded that the renewal deadline is approaching, which will depend on your own local workflows.

You may opt to receive an email in addition to alerts notification within WorldShare. You can configure alerts from Admin >Alerts Management >Configure Alerts. To configure email, go to the Alerts dashboard and change the settings under the User Preferences gear button on the right side of the screen. Here is a sample of the email text: "You have received some WorldShare alerts in the last 24 hours: 8/17/2016 12:00 PM - The renew-by deadline for 'INSPIRE Gale Test License' occurs within the next two weeks [link to alert]. You are receiving these emails because you set your preferences from the Alerts dashboard in the WorldShare console. You can view all of your alerts or change your preferences here: [link to WMS]."

Shared Licenses

Shared Licenses within PALNI

Shared licenses include all of the functionality of a local license as far as ILL, displaying terms of use, and searching your licenses. If you would like to add information or attach documentation, you can create a local editable copy of a shared license. You can edit everything in the license except the start and end date, and it allows you to enter the price for the resource, if you want to take advantage of the COUNTER reports and cost-per-use functionality.

If you want to use the local editable copy in order to make use of the cost-per-use functionality, please note the limitations of this feature, since License Manager is only able to correctly calculate a cost-per-use for resources where you only have one product from a vendor. For instance, if you have just one database from a vendor, your DR_D1 reports would return COUNTER results for that one vendor. If your DR_D1 reports contain more than one database for that vendor, the cost-per-use could not be calculated correctly. Also, License Manager could give you a cost per use for articles in a journal package if you have only one journal package from a vendor, but you could not see a cost-per-use for the individual journals in that package.

License Manager and ILL Deflection Policies

ILL Deflection Policies for E-Resource Formats

The basics of resource sharing setup include at least one deflection policy for electronic resources in the ILL Policies Directory and an ILL term of use configured for a particular KB collection in License Manager. ILLiad libraries will also need a deflection policy in the ILL Policies Directory. WorldShare License Manager online help offers some deflection scenarios to show how License Manager works in conjunction with interlibrary loan. At minimum, your library will need to created a deflection for copy or loan for E-License Terms.

Some libraries have set up additional deflection policies, such as one for ebooks and one for ejournals. Additional policies may be helpful for libraries that find it is too difficult to lend full ebooks, or have licensing issues, since many licenses only allow for loaning ebook chapters. A separate ejournal policy can also be used to attempt to deflect embargoed titles by deflecting all ejournals from the last year. Contact PALNI staff for examples of an ebook or ejournal deflection policy.

License Manager and ILL Terms of Use Options

Terms of Use for Interlibrary Loan

The options for this term of use are Yes, No and Silent. Choosing No, in combination with a deflection policy for ILLiad or WorldShare ILL, should block ILL requests for the collections associated with a particular license. You may also create a dummy license for multiple collections with a name like ILL: No, add one term of use and mark ILL as No. Alternatively, you could create a database only dummy collection with no titles to attach to your license, so that no ILL requests could be place for individual titles in the collection.

If you don’t attach a KB collection to a license in License Manager, the ILL setting for that collection is automatically no. If you have set the ILL use term to Silent in a particular license, this is treated as a No by the ILL system, since the request is deflected. If you have an expired license attached to a KB collection, this is treated as a Yes by the ILL system, since the request is not deflected.

OCLC has provided the following chart in the to explain the interactions between License Manager and ILL. More in-depth discussion of ILL deflections regarding ILL=Silent and collections not connected to a license are available on the Community Center.

Scenario

Knowledge Base Coverage

License Details

Deflection Result

1

Title is found

Issue date is included in full-test coverage

Status: Active

ILL = No

Request is deflected

2

Title is found

Issue date is included in full-text coverage

Status: Expired

ILL = No

Request is sent to the lender for consideration

* Only active licenses are considered for deflection

3

Title is found

Issue date is included in full-text coverage

Status: Active

ILL = Silent

Request is deflected

* Ambiguous ILL term is considered 'No' for deflection

4

Title is found

Issue date is included in full-text coverage

Status: Active

ILL = Yes

Request is sent to the lender for consideration

5

Title is found

Issue date is included in full-text coverage but falls in the embargo period

Status: Active

ILL = Yes

Request is sent to the lender for consideration

* Embargo periods do not factor into deflection

6

Title is found

Issue date is not included in full-text coverage

Status: Active

ILL = No

Request is sent to the lender for consideration

* ILL terms are not applied to items outside the explicit full-text coverage of the title

7

Title is not found

N/A

Request is sent to the lender for consideration