Skip to main content

Faculty / Librarian Collaboration Toolkit: Bibliography & Survey Data

Investigate and support best practices in faculty and librarian collaboration to more effectively meet local institution and library missions and serve the campus community.

Bibliography & Survey Data

Bibliography
Check out each section to see a selected literature review with key findings by topic.
Adkins, M. (2018). Recent Research in Religion. Theological Librarianship, 11(2), 16–26. https://doi.org/10.31046/tl.v11i2.507
Bedi, S., & Walde, C. (2017). Transforming Roles: Canadian Academic Librarians Embedded in Faculty Research Projects. College & Research Libraries, 78(3), 314–327. https://doi.org/10.5860/crl.78.3.314
Bright, K. M. (2018). Examining the Role of Liaison Librarians as Research Collaboration Partners: A Mixed-Methods Multiple-Case Study.
Brooks, M. (2017). Teaching TEI to undergraduates: A case study in a digital humanities curriculum. College & Undergraduate Libraries, 24(2–4), 467–481. https://doi.org/10.1080/10691316.2017.1326331
Busch, H., Nance, J., & Teague, J. (2018). Collaborative Weeding of an Engineering Collection: Two Perspectives. Collection Management, 43(4), 276–282. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2018.1479324
Camack, A. (2017). Playing Triple-A Ball with Faculty: Advocacy, Access, and Authority in Liaison Activities. Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries, 54(5), 678–679.
Clement, S., Gillespie, G., Tusa, S., & Blake, J. (2008). Collaboration and Organization for Successful Serials Cancellation. The Serials Librarian, 54(3–4), 229–234. https://doi.org/10.1080/03615260801974172
Creaser, C., & Spezi, V. (2014). Improving perceptions of value to teaching and research staff: The next challenge for academic libraries. Journal of Librarianship and Information Science, 46(3), 191–206.
Currie, L., & Monroe-Gulick, A. (2013). What do Our Faculty Use? An Interdisciplinary Citation Analysis Study. Journal of Academic Librarianship, 39(6), 471–480. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.acalib.2013.08.016
Dawes, L. (2019). Through Faculty’s Eyes: Teaching Threshold Concepts and the Framework. Portal: Libraries & the Academy, 19(1), 127–153. https://doi.org/10.1353/pla.2019.0007
Donlan, R., Stanislaw, S., & Fernandez, M. (2017). The Future of Information Literacy in the Library: An Example of Librarian/Publisher Collaboration. Serials Librarian, 72(1–4), 91–94. https://doi.org/10.1080/0361526X.2017.1297589
Ellis, L. (2019, March 1). A Lesson From UC’s Split With Elsevier: Keep the Faculty in the Loop. The Chronicle of Higher Education. Retrieved from https://www.chronicle.com/article/A-Lesson-From-UC-s-Split/245811
Gilman, N. V., Sagàs, J., Camper, M., & Norton, A. P. (2017). A Faculty-Librarian Collaboration Success Story: Implementing a Teach-the-Teacher Library and Information Literacy Instruction Model in a First-Year Agricultural Science Course. Library Trends, 65(3), 339–358. https://doi.org/10.1353/lib.2017.0005
Goodsett, M., Loomis, B., & Miles, M. (2016). Leading campus OER initiatives through library–faculty collaboration. College & Undergraduate Libraries, 23(3), 335–342.
Gruber, A. M. (2018). Real-World Research: A Qualitative Study of Faculty Perceptions of the Library’s Role in Service-Learning. Portal: Libraries and the Academy, 18(4), 671–692.
Jankowski, A., Schultz, A., & Soito, L. (2018). Motley Crew: Collaboration across an Academic Library to Revive an Orphaned Collection. Library Resources & Technical Services, 62(3), 114. https://doi.org/10.5860/lrts.62n3.114
Keener, A. (2015). The arrival fallacy: collaborative research relationships in the digital humanities. Digital Humanities Quarterly, 9(2). Retrieved from https://hdl.handle.net/2027.42/117503
Klain-Gabbay, L., & Shoham, S. (2016). Scholarly communication and academic librarians. Library & Information Science Research, 38(2), 170–179.
Knight, N. (2013). Enhancing access to library resources at Northern Caribbean University through an e-library initiative. The Electronic Library, 31(6), 753–769. https://doi.org/10.1108/EL-01-2012-0001
Kordas, M., & Thompson, T. (2018). Better Together: A Collaborative Model for Embedded Music Librarianship. Music Reference Services Quarterly, 21(1), 1–11. https://doi.org/10.1080/10588167.2017.1354647
Lukes, R., Thorpe, A., & Lesher, M. (2017). Using Course Syllabi to Develop Collections and Assess Library Service Integration. The Serials Librarian, 72(1–4), 73–76. https://doi.org/10.1080/0361526X.2017.1284492
Massis, B. E., & Massis, B. (2012). Librarians and faculty collaboration – partners in student success. New Library World, 113(1/2), 90–93. https://doi.org/10.1108/03074801211199077
Murphy, J. A., & Buckley, C. E. (2013). Faculty and Librarian Perceptions of a New Faculty Purchase Program. Collection Management, 38(3), 213–225. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2013.792307
Nalani Meulemans, Y., & Carr, A. (2013). Not at your service: building genuine faculty-librarian partnerships. Reference Services Review, 41(1), 80–90.
Nelson, K. (2016). Study leave report: What do Faculty actually think Librarians do?
Norelli, B. P., & Harper, T. (2007). The business of collaboration and electronic collection development. Collection Building, 26(1), 15–19. https://doi.org/10.1108/01604950710721557
Phillips, M., Van Epps, A., Johnson, N., & Zwicky, D. (2018). Effective Engineering Information Literacy Instruction: A Systematic Literature Review. Journal of Academic Librarianship, 44(6), 705–711. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.acalib.2018.10.006
Pickard, E. (2017). From Barrier to Bridge: Partnering with Teaching Faculty to Facilitate a Multi-term Information Literacy Research Project. Collaborative Librarianship, 9(3), 175–182.
Powers, B. (2016). Perception Matters: What Message Are We Sending to Faculty with Departmental Book Allocations? Collection Management, 41(4), 221–227. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2016.1242443
Rawls, M. M. (2015). Looking for Links: How Faculty Research Productivity Correlates with Library Investment and Why Electronic Library Materials Matter Most. Evidence Based Library & Information Practice, 10(2), 34–44. https://doi.org/10.18438/B89C70
Sanchez-Rodriguez, N. A. (2018). Mixed methods of assessment: measures of enhancing library services in academia. Collection and Curation, 37(3), 111–118. https://doi.org/10.1108/CC-09-2017-0042
Trail, M. A. (2013). Evolving with the Faculty to Face Library Budget Cuts. The Serials Librarian, 65(2), 213–220. https://doi.org/10.1080/0361526X.2013.802268
Tucker, C. (2013). Analyzing Faculty Citations for Effective Collection Management Decisions. Library Collections, Acquisitions, & Technical Services, 37(1–2), 19–33. https://doi.org/10.1080/14649055.2013.10766344
US Faculty Survey 2018: First Release of Key Findings. (2019). Retrieved March 4, 2019, from Ithaka S+R website: https://sr.ithaka.org/events/us-faculty-survey-2018-first-release-of-key-findings/
Vaaler, A. (2018). Sources of resources: A business school citation analysis study. Journal of Business & Finance Librarianship, 23(2), 154–166. https://doi.org/10.1080/08963568.2018.1510252
Wishkoski, R., Lundstrom, K., & Davis, E. (2018). Librarians in the Lead: A Case for Interdisciplinary Faculty Collaboration on Assignment Design. Communications in Information Literacy, 12(2), 166–192. https://doi.org/10.15760/comminfolit.2018.12.2.7
Wolff, C., Rod, A. B., & Schonfeld, R. C. (2016). Ithaka S+R US Faculty Survey 2015 (p. 83). Ithaka S+R.
Yousef, A. (2010). Faculty Attitudes Toward Collaboration with Librarians. Library Philosophy & Practice, 83–96.
Zanin-Yost, A. (2018). Academic collaborations: Linking the role of the liaison/embedded librarian to teaching and learning. College & Undergraduate Libraries, 25(2), 150–163. https://doi.org/10.1080/10691316.2018.1455548

This survey, conducted in Spring 2018, was the first step of the task force. It was sent to (then) all 22 PALNI schools to find out what collaborations were already taking place, from the Librarian's perspective, at the various institutions, and guage the satisfaction level with those interactions.

Response Statistics

  • 20 of 22 Institutions Represented
  • 32 total responses
  • 11 Directors/Associate Directors
  • 8 Reference/Instruction Librarians
  • 3 Subject Specialist/Liaison Librarians
  • 2 Resource Sharing/Access Specialists
  • 2 Information Services/Commons Librarian
  • 6 Who didn’t follow directions

Faculty Interests and Committees

Do you serve on university committees with faculty members?

Which types of committees do you serve on with faculty, and in what capacity?

Collection Development

How do you currently engage faculty in the collection development and maintenance process? (check all that apply)

Are faculty actively involved in trials of new databases?

Do faculty collaborate with librarians to create course or program-specific Library Guides (LibGuides) at your institution?

Bibliographic Instruction

How does your institution engage with faculty before presenting information literacy instruction sessions?

Do faculty provide requested material, such as syllabi or assignments, prior to instructional sessions?

Do faculty members participate in your information literacy sessions?

What type of feedback do faculty provide after an information literacy session?

Liaison Program

Does your institution offer a liaison program?

Are you an active participant in the Liaison program?

Do the liaisons attend department meetings within their discipline?

Do the liaisons actively participate or make presentations during departmental meetings?

Library Planning & Satisfaction Levels

Does your institution have a Library Advisory Council that includes faculty members?

Are faculty members involved in the library's strategic planning process at your institution?

What metrics or methods do you currently use to track your faculty interactions? (Check all that apply)

Please estimate how often you collaborate with faculty on the following activities:

How many faculty currently collaborate with the library?

How would you rate your overall satisfaction with the collaboration between faculty and librarians at your institution?

This survey sent to faculty of PALNI schools, was conducted in Spring 2018 and 2019.  It was sent to find out faculty perceptions on their working relationship with librarians, specifically related to committee work, collection development, library instruction, liaison programs, and library planning.

Response Statistics

  • 11 of 24 Institutions Represented
  • 136 total responses
  • 119 full time faculty
  • 16 adjuncts

Institutional Information

Do librarians have faculty status at your institution?

Faculty Interests and Committees

In what ways have a librarian contacted you in an attempt to learn more about your teaching and research interests? (check all that apply)

Do you serve on university committees with library members?

Do you feel the librarian brings valued participation and/or collaboration to the committee?

Collection Development

How have you collaborated with librarians in collection development? (check all that apply)

How are you involved with your library’s deselection process (withdrawal of items in the collection)?

Have you ever been involved with the trial of a new database?

Have you collaborated with librarians to create course or program-specific Library Guides (e.g. LibGuides) at your institution?

Library Instruction

Have you ever requested a librarian visit your class to provide instruction on information literacy or research?

In what ways do you engage with librarians before they provide instruction in your course?

Do you provide the librarian with materials, such as syllabi or assignments, prior to instructional sessions?

How do you participate in the library instruction sessions given to your classes? (Check all that apply)

Do you feel like you have an adequate way to provide feedback after an library instruction session?

What is the impact of librarian led instruction?

Liaison Program

Is there a liaison or subject librarian connected to your department?

Have you ever interacted with the liaison or subject librarian assigned to your department?

Do the liaison or subject librarians attend your department meetings?

Does your institution have a Library Advisory Council that includes faculty members?

Which of the following opportunities does your institution employ to allow faculty a chance to voice their opinions on library services? (Check all that apply)

Are faculty members involved in the library's strategic planning process at your institution?

Do you feel satisfied with the level of engagement with the library’s strategic planning process?

Library Planning and Satisfaction Levels

How would you rate your overall satisfaction with the collaboration between faculty and librarians at your institution?

Faculty / Librarian Collaboration Task Force

Private Academic Library Network of Indiana logo

This guide was created by a task force of PALNI librarians. 

Task Force Members:
Kate Blinn | Earlham College
Eric Bradley | Goshen College / PALNI
Kristina Brewer | Trine University
Andrea Cohn | University of Saint Francis
Tonya Fawcett | Grace College
Edita Sicken | Manchester University
Sheri Stormes | Butler University