Faculty Onboarding

[For Librarians: The purpose of this section is to identify ways that librarians and instructional support inclusive learning environments. There are resources already made that you can review below.

• Library Menu of Services—This menu is designed to be customized with services the library offers to faculty.
• Librarian Profiles—Fun, eye-catching profiles are a great way to highlight library staff and familiarize students with them at the same time! Choose any of these easy-to-customize templates and create profiles for your library’s website and social media.]

Our library and instructional support teams are here to help you create engaging, inclusive, and well-supported learning environments. From innovative classroom technologies to diverse academic collections, we provide the resources you need to teach effectively and support your students' success.

Explore a wide range of tools—from multimedia production spaces and educational software to screen readers and classroom tech setups—designed to meet the varied needs of today’s faculty and learners. Our collections are equally diverse, offering access to multilingual materials, scholarly databases, streaming media, open educational resources, and more.

Whether you’re building a new course, redesigning content, or exploring new teaching strategies, we’re here to partner with you every step of the way.

• Vary technology
• Diverse collection

Libraries provide students, faculty, and staff with a variety of technologies. These technologies can range from computers and screen readers to a Library of Things. These opportunities creates a more equitable, innovative, and responsive educational environment. Check out the Library of Things at Earlham and see if your library has something similar.

Non-traditional materials (such as Library of Things) can provide equipment lending such as microphones, VR headsets, sewing machines, or science kits. These things can provide hands-on learning, creativity, and support for unique projects. These collections can also include games, kitchen equipment, and puzzles.

Libraries provide diverse collection options, such as multilingual materials, that support inclusive and innovative academic and professional settings.

• Multilingual Materials
  • Books, articles, and resources in multiple languages support faculty, support, and students from diverse linguistic backgrounds.
  • Enables multilingual outreach, teaching, and research, while fostering global competence.
• Culturally Responsive Content
  • Materials representing diverse cultures, histories, and perspectives, including those from traditionally marginalized communities.
  • Supports inclusive teaching, curriculum diversification, and cultural awareness.
• Accessible Formats
  • Screen reader-compatible texts, large print books, Braille materials, and captioned/multilingual videos ensure access for people with disabilities.
  • Advances compliance with accessibility standards and fosters universal design.
• Indigenous and Local Knowledge Collections
  • Materials created by or in partnership with local communities and Indigenous groups, including oral histories and community archives.
  • Preserves diverse narratives and encourages community-engaged scholarship.
• Professional Development Resources
  • Training and tools that reflect diverse work styles, languages, and experiences, including tech tutorials, pedagogy books, and DEI guides.