Skip to main content

Instruction Ideas and Activities: Databases

For RIO Librarians to share ideas

Submit an activity!

Got more great ideas like these? Please submit them to infocoordinators@palni.edu!

Database Worksheet - Ruth @ DePauw

This is a worksheet that I pass out to the students to work in groups and evaluate a database. Then they come up to the front of the room and demonstrate the database for the class.

For a class of 15, working in groups of 3, it takes about 10-15 minutes to do the worksheet and 15-20 minutes to present the databases to the class.

Posters - Untried idea

Get a post-it flipchart and put pages up throughout the room - enough for one for each group of 3-5 students. Divide them into group and give each group a database to examine. Give them leading questions about the database and give them 10-15 minutes to study the database, then make a "poster" about it (asking them to incorporate the info related to the questions posed). Then give the other students 5-10 minutes to go visit the other posters and make notes for themselves.

Alternate: the other groups can make comments directly on the posters themselves.

Heard at ACRL 2015

Tell us the first thing that comes to mind when you hear the word database

Librarian Info

Information Fluency Coordinators's picture
Information Fluency Coordinators
Ruth Szpunar and Eric Bradley coordinate PALNI collaboration and communication on Reference, Instruction, and Outreach activities and develop best practices. They also assist libraries in providing support, services, and product information for learning, teaching, and research, as well as ways to assess and demonstrate that impact. Eric Bradley is the Head of Research & Instruction for Goshen College's Good Library. Both Ruth and Eric are co-founders of Aestiva Solutions.
Subjects:Events, RIO