Collection Assessment and Weeding Toolkit

You can find a variety of templates for collection analysis reports in WMS Report Designer. These reports can be used as is, or to provide Lauren with a list of OCLC numbers for API copy and holdings analysis reports (details below). 

Go to WMS Analytics > Reports > Report Launch Pad > 2.1 PAL2 / Collection Analysis/Weeding Toolkit (as this space is in development, reports and report names from this screenshot are subject to change)

Want to create your own reports? Tools for gathering collection holdings and use data from WMS include:

Collection Evaluation:

Provides title holdings quantities by LC subject conspectus, format, and publication date. Allows limiters to sort by shelving location, format, date, and number of circulations. This tool uses real time data only and cannot be used for retrospective analysis. Lists material format only; no subformats. Does not include eISSN or eISBN. Only holds electronic records from Knowledge Base if collection setting is YES for "Worldcat Holdings."

Report Designer Universes:

Cataloging/Collections: The Cataloging universe contains title holdings, item holdings, and volatility information for new and removed titles in your collection. Report objects from the Title Holding Information class cannot be combined with objects in the Item Holding or Volatility class and vice versa. (50,000 row limit)

• Title Holdings Information – High-level monthly snapshot of counts of title holdings
• Item Holdings Information – High-level monthly snapshot of counts of item holdings
• Volatility Information – Daily titles (not items) added or removed from the institution's collection

Circulation Item Status: The Circulation Item Status universe contains information about the current status of all barcoded items in WMS. This includes data about the item and patron data that might be associated with the item. (50,000 row limit)

Group Titles (requires Group Report permissions): The Group Titles universe contains information regarding the titles held by the PALNI WMS group. Users can compare title holdings at the group level across monthly snapshots of title holdings. (500,000 row limit)

Institutional Title Holdings: The Institution Title Holdings universe contains current data about an institution's title holdings, as well as bibliographic data about the title. This universe can also be used to count current title holdings according to a custom report's selected parameters. (500,000 row limit)

LHR Item Detail: The LHR Item Detail universe contains current details regarding the LHR items owned, created, or maintained by the institution. (500,000 row limit)

FTP Circulation Item Inventory:

Produced weekly and available from the OCLC SFTP server, this report includes information for all inventoried (generally, must be barcoded) items. See: Circulation Item Inventories.

Lauren Magnuson and the PALNI Development Team can help you with holdings comparisons between your local and group/area libraries outside the PALNI group.

Using the WorldCat Search API 2, any list of OCLC numbers can be queried to retrieve data on holdings by:

• Group (e.g., members of PALNI)
• State (e.g., Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, etc.)
• Total Holdings for all OCLC member libraries with holdings
• Holdings with print retention policies

Any PALNI library can request this analysis by sending an Excel sheet containing OCLC numbers (as well as any other data you want in the final analysis, title, location, etc.) to lauren@palni.edu. Large files can be shared via Google Drive.

• You can query either a specific edition (holdings for the exact OCN) or OCLC-grouped editions (“all” editions) - or both
• Useful for weeding projects!
• Can analyze on ILL requests to see how many requests placed could be filled, for example, among PALNI or in Indiana

Example Data: