LibGuides: PALNI LibGuides: Home

PALNI Guides by Subject

Analytics

ACRL, IPEDS, and National Surveys
Guides and tutorials for PALNI libraries completing the ACRL, IPEDS, and other national surveys
AACRL Library Benchmark
Overview for PALNI librarians of the ACRL Library Benchmark platform
Analytics & Reports
Toolkit for PALNI Analytics Admin Team and PALNI member library staff
IDEA: Assessment of Library Impact and Value
Overview and toolkit for PALNI's faculty and administrator library value open access survey instrument
ROI Calculator
Offers students an understanding of library services and the value of their personal use of the library

Collections

Collection Assessment and Weeding Toolkit
Templates and samples for gathering data about your collection, analyzing its use, communicating the stories of how your users work with the resources your library provides, and making decisions about collection development
CONTENTdm documentation
Information on how to use CONTENTdm to add your digitized content to the PALNI Digital Collections

E-Resources Management

SUSHI Configuration and COUNTER Harvesting in WMS License Manager
Documentation on usage statistics harvesting for electronic resources in License Manager
WorldShare Collection Manager
Documentation for creating and managing electronic resource collections in the knowledge base (KB) in Collection Manager

General PALNI

PALNI Communication Manual
Overview of communicating within PALNI
PALNI Onboarding Manual
Overview of the structure of the PALNI consortium, resources available to you, and how you can connect with support and colleagues

Instructional Technology

Accessibility: Creating a Culture of Outreach
Accessibility information for different campus stakeholders to enhance and develop accessibility outreach and culture on campus
Accessibility: How to Make Digital Assets Accessible
How to make content of various types more accessible with explanations, examples, and links to additional resources
LMS Evaluation Planning Toolkit:
Assists institutions embarking upon the process of an existing Learning Management System (LMS) examination and/or change
Online Course Assessment Toolkit
Resources, rubric, and standards for online teaching effectiveness

Reference, Instruction, and Outreach (RIO)

Brand and Writing Style Guidelines
Best practices for institutional visual identities / logos and web writing guidelines across PALNI schools
Camp RIO 2016
Camp RIO 2016 was held August 11-12th, 2016 at Merry Lea Environmental Center, located near Goshen College
Camp RIO 2018
Intentional Teaching: Camp RIO 2018 was held July 19-20th, 2018, at Waycross Camp and Conference Center
Camp RIO 2021
Transitioning beyond COVID: Camp RIO 2021 was held Aug 9-10, 2021, at Lake Placid Christian Conference Center
Camp RIO 2023
Marketing Matters: Communication Strategies for You and Your Library: Camp RIO 2023 was held Aug 3-4, 2023 at Waycross Camp and Conference Center
Creative Outreach Ideas
Creative outreach ideas include an escape room scenario, relaxation station ideas, and virtual outreach ideas
Database Descriptions
User-friendly descriptions for databases used by PALNI libraries
Faculty / Librarian Collaboration Toolkit
Best practices in faculty and librarian collaboration
Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education
Overview and advice for using the Framework
Google Scholar
Guide designed for reuse at PALNI schools
Guide on the Side
List of PALNI libraries using Guide on the Side software
Information Literacy
Compilation of all PALNI LibGuides focused on Information Literacy
Information Literacy Assessment Toolkit
Best practices for program-level & course-level info lit assessment, including tools for both classroom assessment and librarian evaluation
Information Literacy Modules
Set of 14 modules available for use as LMS or LibGuide versions
Information Literacy Pedagogy
Resources and information about library pedagogy
Instructional Peer Coaching
Opportunity to provide PALNI instruction librarians with peer feedback on their instruction
Instruction Ideas and Activities
Creative activities RIO librarians use in library instruction
Instruction Scaffolding Toolkit
Background information, tools, resources, and ideas for learning more about and implementing scaffolded instruction
LibGuides Website Tips
Assists librarians in creating a custom website in LibGuides
Marketing Outreach Toolkit
Outreach tasks that all build on one another to achieve large-scale goals
PALReads
Virtual bookclub open to anyone employed by a PALNI school
Prize Wheel and Button Maker
Information about PALNI's prize wheels and button maker, available to all schools
Research Concepts Videos
Videos available about research concepts, created by Joshua Vossler and fully licensed by PALNI
Retention Annotated Bibliography
Literature review about student retention performed in Spring 2020
Social Media: Best Practices
Advice and best practices for library social media use
Student Library Advisory Boards
Best practices, marketing templates, and ways to get started with Student Library Advisory Boards
Study of Student and Faculty Habits (INAP) Reports
Highlights of the findings of the PALNI Study of Student and Faculty Habits (Information Needs Assessment Project)
Transformative Website Style Guide
Practical advice on creating a transformative library website
Usability Testing Reports
Reports from PALNI's usability testing on WorldCat Discovery and other library search tools
Wikipedia
Guide designed for reuse at PALNI schools
WorldCat Discovery - Recommended Settings for PALNI Libraries
PALNI’s recommended settings for WorldCat Discovery

Scholarly Communication

Affordable Education Initiative: PALSave
Ideas, tools, and partnerships that can help lower the cost of higher education for students
Grant Seeking Guide
Information about applying for grants, including specific grants for PALNI libraries
Scholarly Communications LibGuide
Overview of scholarly communication
Zero-Cost Textbook Adoption
Information and best practices related to the adoption of zero-cost course materials

PALNI Guides by Topic

About PALNI LibGuides

PALNI's LibGuides are provided courtesy of Springshare. They have asked us to use them only for internal PALNI use, so these guides should not be shared with patrons directly without first being copied into your own LibGuides instance or website. Please contact us with any questions or concerns.

-Eric and Ruth infocoordinators @ palni.edu

About PALNI

PALNI is a non-profit organization supporting collaboration for library and information services to the libraries of its supported institutions in Indiana. Over time, the library deans and directors who sit on the PALNI board have adjusted the organization’s strategic direction as the internet and information services landscape have changed. PALNI has expanded beyond providing a resource management system to sharing expertise in many areas including strategic planning, reference, information fluency, outreach, data management and configuration, and has identified greater collaboration in acquisitions as a key goal.

All PALNI LibGuides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. PALNI’s logos and branding template are not covered by this license, and all rights to such material are reserved.