Skip to main content

Google Scholar: Bibliography

Bibliography

Bibliography

 

Andrew D. Asher, Lynda M. Duke, and Suzanne Wilson. 2013. “Paths of Discovery: Comparing the Search Effectiveness of EBSCO Discovery Service, Summon, Google Scholar, and Conventional Library Resources.” College & Research Libraries 74 (5): 464–88.


Ballard, Terry. 2012. Google This! : Putting Google and Other Social Media Sites to Work for Your Library. Oxford [England] : Chandos Publishing,.

 

Bates, Jessica, Paul Best, Janice McQuilkin, and Brian Taylor. 2017. “Will Web Search Engines Replace Bibliographic Databases in the Systematic Identification of Research?” The Journal of Academic Librarianship 43 (1): 8–17. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.acalib.2016.11.003.
 

Bramer, BSc, Wichor Matthijs. 2016. “Variation in Number of Hits for Complex Searches in Google Scholar.” Journal of the Medical Library Association 104 (2).
 

Bronshteyn, Karen, and Kathryn Tvaruzka. 2008. “Using Google Scholar at the Reference Desk.” Journal of Library Administration 47 (1–2): 115–24.
 

Cothran, Tanya. 2011. “Google Scholar Acceptance and Use among Graduate Students: A Quantitative Study.” Library & Information Science Research 33 (4): 293–301. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.lisr.2011.02.001.
 

Dixon, Lydia, Cheri Duncan, Jody Condit Fagan, Meris Mandernach, and Stefanie E. Warlick. 2011. “Finding Articles and Journals via Google Scholar, Journal Portals, and Link Resolvers.” Reference & User Services Quarterly 50 (2): 170–81. https://doi.org/10.5860/rusq.50n2.170.
 

Ettinger, David. 2008. “The Triumph of Expediency: The Impact of Google Scholar on Library Instruction.” Journal of Library Administration 46 (3–4): 65–72.
 

Fagan J.C. 2017. “An Evidence-Based Review of Academic Web Search Engines, 2014-2016: Implications for Librarians’ Practice and Research Agenda.” Information Technology and Libraries 36 (2): 7–47.
 

Giglierano, Joan. 2008. “Attitudes of OhioLINK Librarians Toward Google Scholar.” Journal of Library Administration 47 (1/2): 101–13.
 

Grigas V., Juzeniene S., and Velickaite J. 2017. “‘Just Google It’ - The Scope of Freely Available Information Sources for Doctoral Thesis Writing.” Information Research 22 (1).
 

Guha, Anne Mira. 2018. “Teaching Google Scholar: A Practical Guide for Librarians. By Paige Alfonzo.” Library Quarterly 88 (1): 79–80.
 

Herther, Nancy. 2017. “Google Scholar: Library Partner or Database Competitor?” Online Searcher 41 (5): 30–30.
 

Karlsson N. 2014. “The Crossroads of Academic Electronic Availability: How Well Does Google Scholar Measure up against a University-Based Metadata System in 2014?” Current Science 107 (10): 1661–65.
 

Martin-Martin, Alberto, Enrique Orduna-Malea, Anne-Wil Harzing, and Emilio Delgado López-Cózar. 2017. “Can We Use Google Scholar to Identify Highly-Cited Documents?” Journal of Informetrics 11 (1): 152–63. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.joi.2016.11.008.
 

Moed, Henk F., Judit Bar-Ilan, and Gali Halevi. 2016. “A New Methodology for Comparing Google Scholar and Scopus.” Journal of Informetrics 10 (2): 533–51. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.joi.2016.04.017.
 

Namei, Elizabeth, and Christal A Young. 2015. “Measuring Our Relevancy: Comparing Results in a Web-Scale Discovery Tool, Google & Google Scholar.”  Paper presented at Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL), Portland, OR, March 25-28, 2015.

Neuhaus, Chris, Ellen Neuhaus, and Alan Asher. 2008a. “Google Scholar Goes to School: The Presence of Google Scholar on College and University Web Sites.” Journal of Academic Librarianship 34 (1): 39–51.

———. 2008b. “Google Scholar Goes to School: The Presence of Google Scholar on College and University Web Sites.” The Journal of Academic Librarianship 34 (1): 39–51. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.acalib.2007.11.009.
 

Nicholas, David, Cherifa Boukacem-Zeghmouri, Blanca Rodríguez-Bravo, Jie Xu, Anthony Watkinson, A. Abrizah, Eti Herman, and Marzena Świgoń. 2017. “Where and How Early Career Researchers Find Scholarly Information.” Learned Publishing 30 (1): 19–29.
 

Potter, Charlie. 2008. “Standing on the Shoulders of Libraries: A Holistic and Rhetorical Approach to Teaching Google Scholar.” Journal of Library Administration 47 (1–2): 5–28.
 

Pylarinou, Stamatoula, and Sarantos Kapidakis. 2017. “Tracking Scholarly Publishing of Hospitals Using MEDLINE, Scopus, WoS and Google Scholar.” Journal of Hospital Librarianship 17 (3): 209–16.
 

Quint, Barbara. 2008. “Changes at Google Scholar: A Conversation with Anurag Acharya.” Journal of Library Administration 47 (1–2): 77–79. https://doi.org/10.1080/01930820802110910.


———. 2015. “Google Scholar: The World’s Best Discovery Service?” Information Today 32 (8): 17–17.

 

Schwieder, David. 2016. “Low-Effort Information Searching: The Heuristic Information-Seeking Toolkit.” Behavioral & Social Sciences Librarian 35 (4): 171–87.
 

Ştirbu, Simona, Paul Thirion, Serge Schmitz, Gentiane Haesbroeck, and Ninfa Greco. 2015. “The Utility of Google Scholar When Searching Geographical Literature: Comparison With Three Commercial Bibliographic Databases.” The Journal of Academic Librarianship 41 (3): 322–29. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.acalib.2015.02.013.
 

Sullo E. 2016. “Engineering Faculty Indicate High Levels of Awareness and Use of the Library but Tend to Consult Google and Google Scholar First for Research Resources.” Evidence Based Library and Information Practice 11(3): 102–4.
 

“The Gentleman Who Made Scholar.” n.d. Accessed April 16, 2018. https://www.wired.com/2014/10/the-gentleman-who-made-scholar/.
 

Turner, Laura. 2017. “Word of Mouth and Library Workshops.” College & Research Libraries News 78(3): 142–45.
 

Vilelle, Luke. 2008. “Join the Conversation: Show Your Library’s Google Scholar and Book Search Expertise.” Journal of Library Administration 46(3–4): 53–64. https://doi.org/10.1300/J111v46n03_05.