LibGuides: PALNI LibGuides: Home

About PALNI LibGuides

PALNI's LibGuides are provided courtesy of Springshare. They have asked us to use them only for internal PALNI use, so these guides should not be shared with patrons directly without first being copied into your own LibGuides instance or website. See below for instructions on this process. Please contact us with any questions or concerns.

-Eric and Ruth infocoordinators@palni.edu

PALNI LibGuides by Subject

Analytics Icon Analytics

Collections Icon Collections

Events Icon Events

General PALNI Icon General PALNI

Instructional Technology Icon Instructional Technology

OCLC/WMS Icon OCLC / WMS

RIO Icon RIO

Scholarly Communication Icon Scholarly Communication

Copyright Notice

All PALNI LibGuides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. PALNI’s logos and branding template are not covered by this license, and all rights to such material are reserved.

About PALNI

PALNI is a non-profit organization supporting collaboration for library and information services to the libraries of its supported institutions in Indiana. Over time, the library deans and directors who sit on the PALNI board have adjusted the organization’s strategic direction as the internet and information services landscape have changed. PALNI has expanded beyond providing a resource management system to sharing expertise in many areas including strategic planning, reference, information fluency, outreach, data management and configuration, and has identified greater collaboration in acquisitions as a key goal.

PALNI LibGuides, A-Z

ACRL Library Benchmark
Overview for PALNI librarians of the ACRL Library Benchmark platform
Accessibility: Creating a Culture of Outreach
This guide collects accessibility information for different campus stakeholders to enhance and develop accessibility outreach and culture on campus.
Accessibility: How to Make Digital Assets Accessible
This LibGuide explains how to make content of various types more accessible with explanations, examples, and links to additional resources.
ACRL, IPEDS, and National Surveys
Guides and tutorials for PALNI libraries completing the ACRL, IPEDS, and other national surveys.
Affordable Education Initiative: PALSave
This guide was developed by the AEI Task Force to help promote ideas, tools, and partnerships that can help lower the cost of higher education for students.
Analytics & Reports
This guide is for the use of the PALNI Analytics Admin Team and for PALNI member library staff working in the areas of analytics and reports.
Brand and Writing Style Guidelines
Best practices for institutional visual identities / logos and web writing guidelines across PALNI schools.
Camp RIO 2016
25 PALNI librarians participated in a two day camp adventure on August 11-12th, 2016! Camp was held at Merry Lea Environmental Center, located near Goshen College.
Camp RIO 2018
20 PALNI librarians participated in Camp RIO 2018-Intentional Teaching, which was held July 19-20th, 2018, at Waycross Camp and Conference Center
Camp RIO 2021
Transitioning beyond COVID: Camp RIO 2021 was held Aug 9-10, 2021, at Lake Placid Christian Conference Center.
Camp RIO 2023
Marketing Matters: Communication Strategies for You and Your Library: Camp RIO 2023 will be held Aug 3-4, 2023
Collection Assessment and Weeding Toolkit
This guide provides templates and samples for gathering data about your collection, analyzing its use, communicating the stories of how your users work with the resources your library provides, and making decisions about collection development.
CONTENTdm documentation
This guide provides information on how to use CONTENTdm to add your digitized content to the PALNI Digital Collections.
Creative Outreach Ideas
This guide compiles creative outreach ideas including an escape room scenario, relaxation station ideas, and Wikipedia lesson plans.
Database Descriptions
User-friendly descriptions for databases used by PALNI libraries
Faculty / Librarian Collaboration Toolkit
This guide provides best practices in faculty and librarian collaboration to more effectively meet local institution and library missions and serve the campus community.
Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education
This guide brings together the latest information on the Framework, as well as shared material from PALNI member libraries in using the existing Standards and developing Framework.
Google Scholar
This guide lays out the benefits and limitations of Google Scholar, with sections geared toward faculty, students, graduate students, and librarians and is designed for reuse at PALNI schools.
Grant Seeking Guide
This guide provides information about applying for grants, including specific grants for PALNI libraries.
Guide on the Side
Guide on the Side is an open source software product developed by the University of Arizona Libraries for web-based tutorials incorporating authentic and active learning principles. Instead of screen captured video tutorials, users interact with the live web and actual resource while learning.
IDEA: Assessment of Library Impact and Value
This guide provides an overview and toolkit for PALNI's faculty and administrator library value open access survey instrument.
Information Literacy
This guide contains mapped versions of all PALNI LibGuides focused on Information Literacy.
Information Literacy Assessment Toolkit
This guide highlights best practices for program-level & course-level info lit assessment, including tools for both classroom assessment and librarian evaluation
Information Literacy Modules
The PALNI IL modules are a set of 14 modules available for use as LMS or LibGuide versions. Each module contains learning outcomes, course content, an activity, and a quiz.
Information Literacy Pedagogy
This guide contains resources and information about library pedagogy.
Instructional Peer Coaching
Instructional Peer Coaching is a PALNI program that provides PALNI instruction librarians with peer feedback on their instruction. This guide contains all the information about the program and a place to sign up.
Instruction Ideas and Activities
This guide is a place for RIO Librarians to share creative activities they use in library instruction.
Instruction Scaffolding Toolkit
This guide provides background information, tools, resources, and ideas for learning more about and implementing scaffolded instruction.
LibGuides Website Tips
This guide focuses on assisting librarians to create a custom website in LibGuides.
LMS Evaluation Planning Toolkit:
This toolkit houses material created and identified by PALNI's LMS Evaluation Task Force to assist member institutions embarking upon the process of an existing Learning Management System (LMS) examination and/or change.
Marketing Outreach Toolkit
This project consists of a monthly emailed checklist of outreach tasks that all build on one another to achieve large-scale goals. The idea is to frequently show stakeholders that the library is advancing campus priorities.
Online Course Assessment Toolkit
The PALNI Online Course Evaluation Task Force developed this toolkit resource, rubric, and the standards of online teaching effectiveness.
PALNI Communication Manual
This manual covers the basics of communicating within PALNI.
PALNI Onboarding Manual
This Onboarding guide will orient you to the structure of the PALNI consortium, list resources available to you, and describe how you can connect with support and colleagues.
PALReads
PALReads is a virtual bookclub open to anyone employed by a PALNI school. Each meeting held in Zoom will be focused on a discussion of a reading. Readings can include articles, blog posts, short video clips, podcasts, and more!
Prize Wheel and Button Maker
This guide gives information about PALNI's prize wheels and button maker, available to all schools.
Research Concepts Videos
This guide lists videos available about research concepts, created by Joshua Vossler and fully licensed by PALNI.
Retention Annotated Bibliography
This guide shares the results of a literature review about student retention performed in Spring 2020.
ROI Calculator
The interactive Student Return on Investment calcuator offers students an understanding of library services and the value of their personal use of the library.
Scholarly Communications LibGuide
This guide is built by the Scholarly Communications (ScholComm) Advisory Group to help librarians at PALNI institutions who have an interest in scholarly communication.
Social Media: Best Practices
This guide offers advice and best practices for library social media use.
Student Library Advisory Boards
This guide discusses Student Library Advisory Boards or SLABs, including best practices, marketing templates, and ways to get started.
Study of Student and Faculty Habits (INAP) Reports
The PALNI Study of Student and Faculty Habits (Information Needs Assessment Project) seeks to discover the information seeking behaviors of members in our campus communities, some of whom may never interact with the library. This guide offers highlights of the findings of this project.
SUSHI Configuration and COUNTER Harvesting in WMS License Manager
This guide provides documentation on usage statistics harvesting for electronic resources in License Manager.
Transformative Website Style Guide
This guide offers practical advice on creating a transformative library website.
Usability Testing Reports
This guide links to the reports from PALNI's usability testing on WorldCat Discovery and other library search tools.
Wikipedia
This guide about Wikipedia is designed for reuse at PALNI schools.
WorldCat Discovery - Recommended Settings for PALNI Libraries
This guide contains PALNI’s recommended settings for WorldCat Discovery.
WorldShare Collection Manager
This guide provides documentation for creating and managing electronic resource collections in the knowledge base (KB) in Collection Manager.
Zero-Cost Textbook Adoption
This guide offers information and best practices related to the adoption of zero-cost course materials.