Skip to main content

WorldShare Collection Manager: KB, Metasearch and Discovery

This guide provides documentation for creating and managing electronic resource collections in the knowledge base (KB) in Collection Manager.

Discovery, Metasearch and Central Index Documentation

OCLC Documentation

Discovery FAQs (see WorldCat, WorldCat.org and central index) - includes information on the central index, OCLC databases and non-OCLC database settings in Service Config.

Complete list of databases for metasearch content - spreadsheet list of Metadata Search content and the characteristics of the databases, such as open access, customizable or remote search.

Default Databases and Licensed Content - basic steps for how to configure Service Config settings for central index and licensed content and creating database search groups in Discovery.

Discovery full-text link display - an overview of how KB title level information connects to access online links in Discovery.

OCLC's OpenURL link resolver and Google Scholar - an overview of how OCLC configures library links for your library based on Collection Manager settings.

PALNI Documentation

WorldShare Management Services (WMS) LibGuide - this guide includes information on configuring WorldCat Local and WorldCat Discovery search boxes and on configuring links to searches.

Using Google Analytics in WorldCat Discovery (video, 10:29 long) - provides instruction on how to configure a Google Analytics account to include a dashboard for WorldCat Discovery.

Add Metasearch Database to Discovery

Metasearch Features in Discovery

Central Index

When a database is included in the central index, the indexed metadata from the databases will be included in the search results in Discovery, while remote search databases appear separate from the main search results. Some databases in the central index are included in WorldCat.org and cannot be searched discretely, so you would need to enable WorldCat.org in Service Config in order to include them. Some central index databases are available to activate as discrete collections, which means they can be included in database groups and/or in the advanced search.

Database Groups

Once you have configured databases to search in Service Config, you can create groups and add databases to those groups as well as configure a group of databases as the default search. You can choose just one database as your default search, or one group as your default search. Remaining groups will be available to search in the advanced search, along with any configured databases that have not been added to a group. If you have created at least one group, you then have the choice of adding a new database you enable to that group, or just offer that database individually on the advanced search screen.

Remote Searching

The remote search option is included in PALNI's contract with OCLC for all libraries. Some databases are only available as remote searches, while other databases include complete coverage when the remote search option is enabled. At this time, OCLC recommends libraries configure up to ten remote databases at a time for searching simultaneously.

Databases in the Metasearch Content List

Searching the Metasearch Content List

You can search for metasearch collections and see a list of the most recently added content in this chart in Tableau.

OCLC's Content List Spreadsheet Description

The central index is an index of metadata for the wide range of databases, articles, e-books, and digital materials libraries provide to their users, including materials from well-known content providers and open access resources.
 
The central index includes:


• 13 databases of the former “FirstSearch base package,” including Electronic Books, ArchiveGrd, ArticleFirst, CAMIO Catalog of Art Museum Images Online, OCLC FirstSearch Electronic Collections Online Abstract & Index, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat Dissertations and Theses, ERIC, GPO Monthly Catalog and MEDLINE. These databases can be selected and searched individually.
• More than 200 million article-level records from sources that include HathiTrust, ArticleFirst, MEDLINE, ERIC, British Library Inside Serials, JSTOR, OAIster, Elsevier metadata and many more.
• Complete metadata for 900+ content collections from OCLC content partners such as EBSCO, ProQuest, Gale, Springer and many others.  Access to these collections is determined by the subscriptions your library maintains to this content.
• Majority of metadata for 750+ content collections. The service contains some metadata for 75 percent or more of the ISSNs and ISBNs indexed in these collections. This results from the inclusion of article-level records from those ISSNs in WorldCat.org or the central index based on OCLC’s agreements with content providers such as journal publishers, e-book providers and other content suppliers.
• Vendor record sets that have been requested by member libraries.  OCLC contacts publishers on behalf of libraries to obtain agreements for the addition to WorldCat of vendor records already licensed by these libraries. Vendor records are often loaded directly into WorldCat to give users an OPAC-like experience, similar to what they already see at their library. Other sets can be searched as discrete databases, available only to users of subscribing libraries.
• Complete databases accessible via remote access from a database publisher site

WorldCat Local and WorldCat Discovery provide searching of databases on content providers’ sites with results included in single, relevance-ranked set of results along with results from the central index.  Access to these databases is determined by the subscriptions your library maintains to this content.

 

Interpreting OCLC's Content List Spreadsheet

Metasearch Content and Target ID Spreadsheet

The most recent content list for metasearch in Discovery is available on OCLC's website. Both the Remote Database Searching and item location and real-time availability features are included in PALNI's contract with OCLC for all libraries.

Spreadsheet Footnote Symbols

A single asterisk (*) indicates that the database does not have a unique target ID.  Content is found by searching WorldCat.org.

A double asterisk (**) indicates that the target ID will be added when the content is added to WorldCat Discovery.

A single dagger (‡) indicates that your library must add the Remote Database Search option to your WorldCat Discovery subscription to include this database in your search results.

A double dagger (‡‡) indicated that access to this EBSCO collection in the central index requires purchase of the following options: Item location and real-time availability, remote database search.

Video - Discovery Updates Webinars

KB Collections Display Order in Discovery by Provider

Ordering WorldCat Discovery Links at the KB Collection Level

KB Collections Display in Discovery

Configure KB Display Links Order

Go to Collection Manager >Institution Settings >WorldCat Discovery >Discovery Order. Then you can customize the order in which providers are displayed during link resolution by arranging the providers in the preferred order for your library. For instance, you could put providers whose collections may have ongoing linking problems at the bottom of the list.

Customize Linking to Specific KB Providers

Go to Collection Manager >Institution Settings >Provider Settings. Select the provider from the drop down list and enter your library's specific information. The following providers require your library's customer ID:

Askews and Holt
China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI)
CSA
EBL
ebrary
EBSCO A-to-Z
EBSCOhost
EBSCOhost EJS
Factiva
Gale Cengage
Get It Now
Infobase
IRIS Education
JSTOR (OpenAthens only)
Kanopy
LOCKSS
MD Consult
Naxos Digital Services Ltd
NLM - PubMed
OCLC
Overdrive
Ovid
ProQuest
ProQuest Ebook Central
ProQuest Safari
Psychotherapy.net
Recorded Books
Skillsoft EZProxy Domain
Springer
Teton Data Systems
The HistoryMakers
VIP

Customize KB Collection Name

If you would like to modify how the name of a standard KB collection displays in Discovery, go to the Properties accordion and select the Local toggle to modify the Collection Name. This collection name will display in the links to an item in the detailed item record in Discovery, as well as in the Discovery A-to-Z list. Modifying the name can be helpful if you would like collection names to be standardized in some way, such as to include the name of the provider.

Configure Linking to Open Access Collections

Access to open access content can be configured overall using both Discovery settings and Collection Manager settings. For Discovery settings, go to Service Config >MyWorldCat.org >Full Text and Open Access Links to configure open access linking from the WorldCat Master Record for selected large open access collections. For Collection Manager settings, in WMS go to Metadata >Collection Manager >Settings >Proxy and Authentication >Open Access in Resolver to configure open access linking according to format.

Open access content can also be configured at a more granular level by selecting particular open access KB collections. In order to access any KB collections, including your selected open access KB collections, you will also need to set your Discovery settings in Service Config >MyWorldCat.org >Full Text and Open Access Links to include "Links from the WorldCat knowledge base to full text content."

A-Z Lists

A-Z List Features

The A-Z list for Discovery incorporates knowledge base collections to provide a searchable list of ejournals, ebooks and other items from the title holdings listings in those collections. The interface also includes a citation finder feature so that users can enter an article citation to search for access to the specific issue for that particular article.

There is also a browsing feature to browse all titles as well as browsing for collections by title. The collections browse feature includes both knowledge base and query collections. The collections browse includes links to the titles in that particular collection. If a knowledge base collection for print serials has been created by the library, that collection and the titles from that collection will be included in the searching and browsing features of the A-Z list.

Database-only Collections

A link to a database only collection, that is, a collection with no titles and no corresponding KBART, can be created in Collection Manager. To ensure that a link to the database appears in the A-Z list, fill in the Collection URL Formula on the Linking accordion after you have created and saved the collection. The Collection URL Formula should consist of [[localstem]] followed by the URL for the database.