Skip to main content

WorldShare Collection Manager: KB Overview

This guide provides documentation for creating and managing electronic resource collections in the knowledge base (KB) in Collection Manager.

Knowledge Base and Collection Manager Documentation

OCLC Documentation

WorldShare Collection Manager Documentation: Knowledge base materials - Includes a link to the KB collections list, an overview of the various methods to select existing collections or create new collections, how to expose collection data to other services, and on overview of the Cooperative Management program.

Collection Manager account roles - certain levels of account role access are needed to access the Metadata tab in WMS.

Collection Manager Quick Start Guide - this documentation reviews overall settings and collection level settings in detail.

WorldShare Collection Manager Online Help - this documentation covers managing knowledge base and other collections in Collection Manager, which is accessible from the Metadata tab in WorldShare.

Requesting new vendor content in the knowledge base - these instructions include contact information to request a new collection for the KB.

Knowledge Base And Related Tools (KBART)

KBART Phase I

KBART fields

These are the required fields in the NISO KBART Recommended Practice. Fields elements should be in this order in the file.

publication_title

print_identifier

online_identifier

date_first_issue_online

num_first_vol_online

num_first_issue_online

date_last_issue_online

num_last_vol_online

num_last_issue_online

title_url

first_author

title_id

embargo_info

coverage_depth

coverage_notes

publisher_name

KBART Phase II

These additional nine fields were added to the KBART recommended practice in 2014. Many vendors have not incorporated them yet into their KBART files.

KBART Field
publication_type
date_monograph_published_print
date_monograph_published_online
monograph_volume
monograph_edition
first_editor
parent_publication_title_id
preceding_publication_title_id
access_type

 

 

 

OCLC Specific KBART Fields

OCLC Additional Fields in KBART Files

KBART Field
location
title_notes
staff_notes
vendor_id
oclc_collection_name
oclc_collection_id
oclc_entry_id
oclc_linkscheme
oclc_number
ACTION
 

 

Coverage in KBART Collections

Coverage Depth Designations Specific to OCLC

OCLC uses different designations for coverage_depth than the accepted values for the KBART standards, which are fulltext, selected articles and abstracts. The only way to view these designations is to download the KBART file.

Currently supported Coverage values in OCLC are:

  • fulltext
  • ebook
  • print
  • selected full text
  • abstracts
  • indexed
  • homepage
  • other
  • video

 

Knowledge Base Collections Information

Information on Knowledge Base Spreadsheet

These are the columns in the WorldCat knowledge base monthly collections list. This list allows you to view information about many KB collections at once. In addition to OCLC's complete list, you can review the most recently added collections to see if your newest collections are now in the KB.

Provider ID:
The identification code used in the WorldCat knowledge base for each content provider.  Each content provider has a unique ID code that can be used to search for the collection in the knowledge base administrative interface.

Provider Name:
The name of the content provider or platform.

Collection ID:
The ID code used to describe each collection in the WorldCat knowledge base.  This can can also be used to search for these collections in the knowledge base administrative interface.

Collection Name:
This column provides the commonly known name for each content collection.

Total Records Available:
This number indicates the number of titles included in the global version of each collection.

Percentage of OCLC Number Coverage:
This number indicates the percentage of items in the collection that contain an OCLC number.  Items that contain an OCLC number can have holdings set in WorldCat and/or have MARC records output.

Open Access:
Collections with "yes" in this column contain only open access content.

Customizable:
This column indicates whether library staff can select subsets of a total collection.  A "yes" means that subsets can be selected, and a "no" means that the collection may be selected only in its entirety.

Active / Discontinued:
This column shows whether the collection is being maintained by OCLC (Active) or if support for it has been discontinued.

KBART Metadata in KB Collection Match Points with WorldCat Records

KBART Files in Relation to MARC Records in WorldCat

When a KBART file is uploaded for the first time into a KB collection, or the KBART data is updated, OCLC's matching process adds a primary OCN and grouped OCNs to the titles in the KB collection if there is sufficient data for a match. The algorithm for ebooks looks at title, date, URL, ISBN/eISBN, publisher, author, and language. For ejournals, the algorithm looks at title, URL, ISSN/eISSN, publisher and language.

However, links to electronic resources from a print resource may appear in Discovery based on a process that uses OCN, ISSN/eISSN or ISBN/eISBN, then title (as long as it’s more than three words) to put links on items in Discovery. This process does not necessarily add a primary OCN or a grouped OCN to the title in the KB collection. However, mismatches for both incorrect OCNs in the KB collection and mismatched links in Discovery can often be corrected by providing more complete information in the title field, since many titles have more than three words, and the title field is the most frequent cause of the mismatch.