Skip to main content

WorldShare Collection Manager: Query Collections

This guide provides documentation for creating and managing electronic resource collections in the knowledge base (KB) in Collection Manager.

Query Collections Documentation

OCLC Documentation

About query collections - brief information about the purpose of query collections and how they work.

Create a query collection in WorldShare Collection Manager - a detailed overview of creating a collection and enabling MARC record delivery.

Collection level settings in query collections - detailed information about collection-level settings requirements.

Query WorldCat to create a spreadsheet of your WorldCat holdings - an overview of how to create a spreadsheet from a query collection's MARC records using MarcEdit.

Create a print serial collection - instructions on how to use a query collection to create a KB collection to show print serials in your A-Z list.

 

Using Query Collections

Constructing a Query

Query collections allow you to identify a set of MARC records and download them from a one-time or a recurring query. To retrieve the records, you’ll need to make sure your MARC Record Delivery Settings are enabled. The query collections are dependent on the WorldCat indexes. Any search that utilized the indexes, such as searches used in Discovery or Connexion, will also work for query collections.

Example searches:
(LI:IME NOT L4:IME) AND (X4:PRINTBOOK) - print format with holdings but no LHRs for a particular library
(l4:ina AND x4:digital) - ebook format with LHRs for a particular library

MARC Record Delivery Settings

1. MARC Records >Enable MARC delivery: choose "Use institution setting." Most PALNI libraries already have basic MARC record settings configured, even if you haven't enabled record delivery for any collections yet. Double check your settings by going to Collection Manager >Institution Settings >MARC Records. Check the Customize Records tab to be sure that Local Data already has "Include my local holdings records" selected and that your OCLC symbol is included.

2. Marc Records >Customize Records > :Embed Local Bibliographic Data, OCLC Symbols - choose "Use institution setting."

3. MARC Records >Customize Records >Interleave Local Holdings Records: choose "Use institution setting."

4. MARC Records >Record Delivery >Delivery File Output: choose "Deliver records for this collection in a separate file."

5. MARC Records >Record Delivery >WorldCat Holdings: choose"Include new records already held in WorldCat."

Query Collections Settings for Material Types

Material types to use for WorldCat Collection Criteria in Properties

Search term Material format
mt:bks Books
mt:elc Electronic
mt:mic Microform
mt:new Newspaper
mt:per Periodical
mt:ser Serial
mt:url Internet resource

For a material type search, at minimum, your search would include your OCLC symbol and a format, for instance, li:P4I AND mt:per. For more information on WorldCat index searching, see OCLC's documentation on indexes.

Print Serials KB Collection Options

Creating a KBART File for Print Serials

Adding a KB collection allows a library's print journal titles to be included in the A-to-Z list, along with coverage information you would like patrons to see in the A-to-Z list. OCLC's recommended information in the KBART file is as follows:

publication_title

The journal's title

coverage_depth

Set this value to "print" or "other"

oclc_number

Include the OCLC number if available

date_first_issue_online

Start of coverage range for the title.

num_first_vol_online

num_first_issue_online

date_last_issue

End of coverage. Leave these blank if coverage range is to present.

num_last_vol_online

num_last_issue_online

ACTION

Fill with the word "raw" to tell OCLC that data is being added for the first time.

 

As good practice, include print_identifier and oclc_number as minimum information. Some libraries include the location as well. Your library will also want to include a permalink to the OCLC record for the journal title in the title_url field, so that the links in your AtoZ list will direct users to the full record and complete holdings information for that title. Not all libraries include coverage information in the KBART file, but you also have the option of including coverage notes rather than coverage ranges to provide basic coverage information in your KB collection for print serials. Be aware that coverage ranges in the KB and coverage information in LHRs may not perform uniformly throughout the OCLC system.

When using a query collection to provide you with the MARC records for your print serials, you have the option of setting up MARC record delivery to interleave the LHR information from your print serials into these MARC records, so that you will have coverage information for your KBART file. If you will be creating the KBART file programmatically using MarcEdit, the bib record will appear on a row followed by a row for each LHR, so further editing of the file is necessary. MarcEdit can also fill in the shelving location in the location field based on the LHR information.

Another option for obtaining information about your print serials for a KBART file is to use the Collection Evaluation >My Library tool in Analytics. You can limit Format to Journals/Magazines, Non Digital to obtain a title list that includes title, ISSN, OCLC number, publisher and location. Coverage information is not included, however.