Skip to main content

WorldShare Management Services (WMS): FAQs

Possible Frequently Asked Questions

Adjust content specifics as necessary.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is WorldCat Local?

WorldCat Local is a single search box on the Library’s homepage that searches:

  • Over 110,000 hardcopy items available through Goshen College
  • Millions of ebooks through Good Library, Google Books, and Hathi Trust Digital Library
  • Journal articles, conference papers and newspaper articles from most of the Library's databases
  • And books and articles outside of our library by selecting Libraries

Worldwide WorldCat Local provides an easy-to-use discovery interface to search across much of our Library content with just a few keywords, allowing users to find more results in less time.

In brief, how do I use WorldCat Local?

Enter your keywords into the single search box, and select Search. Use the options on the left to refine your search.

Also see our video tutorial [note: make video!] for more information.

How is WorldCat Local different than a library catalog search?

The previous Good Library catalog was built for searching print resources owned by Goshen. It used controlled vocabularly to search for titles, authors, subjects, and main contents of the resources, but did not include searches for individual articles, chapters, and the contents within the resources themselves.

WorldCat Local, on the other hand, searches through the contents of resources to find individual articles, e-Book chapters, newspaper articles, etc. to provide the user with a Google-like searching experience of the library's resources. WorldCat Local incorporates this material along with all the information found in the former Good Library catalog, as well as e-books from Google Books and the Hathi Trust Digital Library.

How is WorldCat Local different than Google and Google Scholar?

Both WorldCat Local and Google / Google Scholar search a massive index of information. However, there are some key differences to these searching tools (adapted from the University of Wollongong's "Search Result Comparison: WorldCat Local / Discovery versus Google"):

WorldCat Local

Google / Google Scholar

  • All content searched is readily accessible by the Goshen community
  • Results found are easier to refine to scholarly or peer-reviewed
  • Options for refining search (e.g. by content, format, date)
  • Books found can always be viewed in their entirety by Good Library users
  • Many Google Scholar resources cost money to access
  • In Google, it can be difficult to identify which articles are scholarly or peer-reviewed
  • Difficult to refine your searches
  • Books found can be limited and/or cost money

 

 

 

 

 

What resources are available in WorldCat Local?

A large majority of Good Library’s collection, and Hathi Trust e-books are all available through WorldCat Local. The range of material includes:

  • Almost 3,000,000 books and ebooks
  • Journal, newspaper, and trade publication articles; conference papers; book reviews; multimedia resources
  • Thousands of journal titles
  • Books and articles outside of our libraries by selecting Libraries Worldwide And much more

All records should link to full text content.

Why should I use WorldCat Local for research?

WorldCat Local is a unified discovery service that allows Good Library users to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content. Through one simple search, it provides instant access to the breadth of content found at Good Library and other libraries - digital and print, audio and video, single articles to entire e-journals, and every format in between. Enter your terms and quickly get one relevancy-ranked list of library resources.

What browsers and phones are supported by WorldCat Local?

WorldCat Local is supported by all modern web browsers and phones.

WorldCat Local's results were not relevant to my search -- What should I do?

If you are finding that WorldCat Local's results do not fit your search, you may need to refine or enhance your search strategies (see here [put link to seach strategy page]), or you may occasionally need to search specialist databases to access library resources not yet available through WorldCat Local.

If you need any help in locating relevant resources, or would like assistance in searching, please contact or visit a Good Library research librarian.

How do I access the full text of my article?

  1. Select the Title.
  2. If you are taken to a page with “View Now” links, click them. Note: Clicking these links may take you to a database where you have to re-enter the article information. Do that, and THEN the full text should appear.
  3. If steps 1 and 2 are unsuccessful, this is an error that we need to fix. Please describe the problem to library@goshen.edu here and it should be fixed shortly.

How do I browse a journal title?

  1. Select "Advanced Search"
  2. Select “Journal Source” in the left hand drop down.
  3. Type the name of the journal in the search box.
  4. Search

Can I use WorldCat Local to ONLY search books?

Yes, in fact WorldCat Local replaces the library catalog for a book search. To search ONLY books in WorldCat Local:

  1. Limit your "Format" on the left navigation panel to Book, or...
  2. Limit your "Library" on the left navigation panel to a specific library

How can I save records from WorldCat Local?

Save: Login to WorldCat Local. Select the check box left of the record in your search result. In the drop down right to Save to: select a new or existing list. Select Save.

Is there a way to easily cite my WorldCat Local resources?

Yes. The library encourages and supports Zotero as a citation organizer and generator. See the Zotero FAQ [create libguide] for more information, and for a video on citing WorldCat Local resources.

How do I find resources from other libraries?

WorldCat Local will allow you to search for books from other libraries by selecting Add results beyond your library's collection under the "Refine your Search" limit (left navigation panel). Books from other libraries can be shipped to Goshen for you to pick up. See our InterLibrary Loan page for more information.

Does WorldCat Local really search all of the library's contents at once?

Almost. It searches all of Goshen's books and eBooks. Additionally, it searches most of our journals / eJournals, as well as most of the other resources your library owns.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is WorldCat Discovery?

WorldCat Discovery is a single search box on the Library’s homepage that searches:

  • Over 110,000 hardcopy items available through Goshen College
  • Millions of ebooks through Good Library, Google Books, and Hathi Trust Digital Library
  • Journal articles, conference papers and newspaper articles from most of the Library's databases
  • And books and articles outside of our library by selecting Libraries Worldwide

WorldCat Discovery provides an easy-to-use discovery interface to search across much of our Library content with just a few keywords, allowing users to find more results in less time.

In brief, how do I use WorldCat Discovery?

Enter your keywords into the single search box, and select Search. Use the options on the left to refine your search.

Also see our video tutorial [note: make video!] for more information.

How is WorldCat Discovery different than a library catalog search?

The previous Good Library catalog was built for searching print resources owned by Goshen. It used controlled vocabularly to search for titles, authors, subjects, and main contents of the resources, but did not include searches for individual articles, chapters, and the contents within the resources themselves.

WorldCat Discovery, on the other hand, searches through the contents of resources to find individual articles, e-Book chapters, newspaper articles, etc. to provide the user with a Google-like searching experience of the library's resources. WorldCat Discovery incorporates this material along with all the information found in the former Good Library catalog, as well as e-books from Google Books and the Hathi Trust Digital Library.

How is WorldCat Discovery different than Google and Google Scholar?

Both WorldCat Discovery and Google / Google Scholar search a massive index of information. However, there are some key differences to these searching tools (adapted from the University of Wollongong's "Search Result Comparison: WorldCat Discovery versus Google"):

WorldCat Discovery

Google / Google Scholar

  • All content searched is readily accessible by the Goshen community
  • Results found are easier to refine to scholarly or peer-reviewed
  • Options for refining search (e.g. by content, format, date)
  • Books found can always be viewed in their entirety by Good Library users
  • Many Google Scholar resources cost money to access
  • In Google, it can be difficult to identify which articles are scholarly or peer-reviewed
  • Difficult to refine your searches
  • Books found can be limited and/or cost money

What resources are available in WorldCat Discovery?

A large majority of Good Library’s collection, and Hathi Trust e-books are all available through WorldCat Discovery. The range of material includes:

  • Almost 3,000,000 books and ebooks
  • Journal, newspaper, and trade publication articles; conference papers; book reviews; multimedia resources
  • Thousands of journal titles
  • Books and articles outside of our libraries by selecting Libraries Worldwide
  • And much more

All records should link to full text content.

Why should I use WorldCat Discovery for research?

WorldCat Discovery is a unified discovery service that allows Good Library users to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content.  Through one simple search, it provides instant access to the breadth of content found at Good Library and other libraries - digital and print, audio and video, single articles to entire e-journals, and every format in between.  Enter your terms and quickly get one relevancy-ranked list of library resources.

What browsers and phones are supported by WorldCat Discovery?

WorldCat Local is supported by all modern web browsers and phones.

WorldCat Discovery's results were not relevant to my search -- What should I do?

If you are finding that WorldCat Discovery's results do not fit your search, you may need to refine or enhance your search strategies (see here [put link to seach strategy page]), or you may occasionally need to search specialist databases to access library resources not yet available through WorldCat Discovery.

If you need any help in locating relevant resources, or would like assistance in searching, please contact or visit a Good Library research librarian.

How do I access the full text of my article?

  1. Select the Title.
  2. If you are taken to a page with “Access online" links, click them.  Note: Clicking these links may take you to a database where you have to re-enter the article information.  Do that, and THEN the full text should appear.
  3. If steps 1 and 2 are unsuccessful, this is an error that we need to fix.  Please describe the problem to library@goshen.edu, and it should be fixed shortly.

How do I browse a journal title?

  1. Select "Advanced Search"
  2. Select “Journal Source” in the left hand drop down.
  3. Type the name of the journal in the search box.
  4. Search

Can I use WorldCat Discovery to ONLY search books?

Yes, in fact WorldCat Discovery replaces the library catalog for a book search.

To search ONLY books in WorldCat Discovery:

  1. Limit your "Format" on the left navigation panel to Book, or...
  2. Limit your "Library" on the left navigation panel to a specific library

How can I save and e-mail records from WorldCat Discovery?

  • Save: Select the plus icon in the top right of the record in your search result.
  • E-mail: Select the arrow icon in the top right of the record in your search result.  Then select e-mail record and follow the steps.

Is there a way to easily cite my WorldCat Discovery resources?

Write up steps for generic citation... Yes.  The library encourages and supports Zotero as a citation organizer and generator.  See the Zotero FAQ [create libguide] for more information, and for a video on citing WorldCat Discovery resources.

How do I find resources from other libraries?

WorldCat Discovery will allow you to search for books from other libraries by selecting Libraries Worldwide as your library in the left navigation panel.  Books from other libraries can be shipped to Goshen for you to pick up. See our InterLibrary Loan page for more information.

Does WorldCat Discovery really search all of the library's contents at once?

Almost.  It searches all of Goshen's books and eBooks.  Additionally, it searches most of our journals / eJournals, as well as most of the other resources your library owns.